Goodnight Sweetheart. Image shows from L to R: Yvonne Sparrow (Emma Amos), Gary Sparrow (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Phoebe Sparrow (Elizabeth Carling). Copyright: Alomo Productions / BBC.

Goodnight Sweetheart

BBC One sitcom about a time traveller. 59 episodes (6 series), 1993 - 2016. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Dervla Kirwan, Elizabeth Carling, Michelle Holmes and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Rites Of Passage

TV repair man Gary's search for a customer takes him over fifty years further than he intended. Or could it all be a dream? Finding himself in 1940s Britain, with the bombs raining around him, Gary soon discovers that he can handily walk between the present and the past. Unfortunately, this new-found gift sees him torn not only between two periods, but two lovers.

Broadcast details

Thursday 18th November 1993
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nicholas Lyndhurst Gary Sparrow
Dervla Kirwan Phoebe Bamford
Michelle Holmes Yvonne Sparrow
Christopher Ettridge PC Reg Deadman
Victor McGuire Ron Wheatcroft
David Ryall Eric Bamford
Guest cast
John Rapley Stan (Old Codger)
Pete Drummond O.U. Lecturer (Voice)
Writing team
Maurice Gran Writer
Laurence Marks Writer
Micheál Jacob Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Robin Nash Director
John Bartlett Producer
Allan McKeown Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 65 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?