Goodnight Sweetheart. Image shows from L to R: Yvonne Sparrow (Emma Amos), Gary Sparrow (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Phoebe Sparrow (Elizabeth Carling). Copyright: Alomo Productions / BBC.

Goodnight Sweetheart

BBC One sitcom about a time traveller. 59 episodes (6 series), 1993 - 2016. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Dervla Kirwan, Elizabeth Carling, Michelle Holmes and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Nicholas Lyndhurst Gary Sparrow
Dervla Kirwan Phoebe Bamford (Series 1-3)
Elizabeth Carling Phoebe Sparrow (Series 4-6)
Michelle Holmes Yvonne Sparrow (Series 1-3)
Emma Amos Yvonne Sparrow (Series 4-6)
Christopher Ettridge PC Reg Deadman
Victor McGuire Ron Wheatcroft
David Ryall Eric Bamford (Series 1)
David Benson Noel Coward (Series 5-6)
Writing team
Maurice Gran Writer
Laurence Marks Writer
Gary Lawson Writer (Series 2-6)
John Phelps Writer (Series 2-6)
Sam Lawrence Writer (Series 4-6)
Geoff Rowley Writer (Series 3-6)
Paul Makin Writer (Series 2-4)
Micheál Jacob Script Editor (Series 2-5)
Victoria Grew Script Editor (Series 6)
Production team
Robin Nash Director
Terry Kinane Director (Series 3-6)
Nic Phillips Director (Series 6)
John Bartlett Producer (Series 1-5)
Nic Phillips Producer (Series 6)
Allan McKeown Executive Producer (Series 1-3)
Claire Hinson Executive Producer (Series 3-6)
Chris Wadsworth Editor (Series 1-4)
Phil Moss Editor (Series 3-4 & 6)
Howard Denyer Editor (Series 4-6)
Graham Carr Editor (Series 5)
Roger Andrews Production Designer (Series 1-5)
David Ferris Production Designer (Series 6)
Anthony Sadler Composer (Series 1)
Gaynor Sadler Composer (Series 1)

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides