Detectorists. Image shows from L to R: Lance Stater (Toby Jones), Andy Stone (Mackenzie Crook). Copyright: BBC


  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Four / BBC Two
  • 2014 - 2022
  • 20 episodes (3 series)

Sitcom about metal detecting enthusiasts. Stars Mackenzie Crook and Toby Jones. Also features Rachael Stirling, Gerard Horan, Pearce Quigley, Divian Ladwa, Laura Checkley and more.

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 386

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 3

Detectorists. Image shows from L to R: Sophie (Aimee-Ffion Edwards), Peter (Daniel Donskoy), Lance Stater (Toby Jones)
Russell and Hugh embark on their mission to recover the mayor's chain of office from the car park in Barnfather Woods, while Sophie proves she's still very bad at spying. Both Becky and Lance have something important to tell Andy.

Broadcast details

Thursday 12th November 2015
BBC Four
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 13th November 2015 1:00am BBC4
Tuesday 17th November 2015 12:10am BBC4
Tuesday 18th July 2017 10:00pm BBC2
Saturday 28th September 2019 11:30pm BBC4
Friday 14th October 2022 9:00pm Drama
Monday 6th March 2023 10:00pm BBC2
Friday 25th August 2023 1:40am Drama
Thursday 12th October 2023 9:00pm Gold
Friday 13th October 2023 1:15am Gold
Thursday 18th January 2024 10:40pm Gold
Friday 19th January 2024 2:30am Gold
Saturday 16th March 2024 11:00pm Gold
Sunday 17th March 2024 2:00am Gold

Cast & crew

Mackenzie Crook Andy Stone
Toby Jones Lance Stater
Rachael Stirling Becky
Gerard Horan Terry
Pearce Quigley Russell
Divian Ladwa Hugh
Laura Checkley Louise
Orion Ben Varde
Sophie Thompson Sheila
Simon Farnaby Art
Paul Casar Paul
Aimee-Ffion Edwards Sophie
Alexa Davies Kate
Daniel Donskoy Peter
Guest cast
Frankie Wilson Waiter
Writing team
Mackenzie Crook Writer
Production team
Mackenzie Crook Director
Adam Tandy Producer
Kristian Smith Executive Producer
Jonno Richards Executive Producer
Lisa Thomas Executive Producer
Alan Marke Executive Producer
Jim Reid Executive Producer
Colin Fair Editor
Sam Harley (as Samantha Harley) Production Designer
Johnny Flynn Composer
Dan Michaelson Composer

Share this page