Dad's Army. Image shows from L to R: Private Godfrey (Arnold Ridley), Lance Corporal Jones (Clive Dunn), Private Walker (James Beck), Captain Mainwaring (Arthur Lowe), Private Frazer (John Laurie), Sergeant Wilson (John Le Mesurier), Private Pike (Ian Lavender).

Dad's Army

BBC One sitcom about a home guard unit. 80 episodes (9 series), 1968 - 1977. Stars Arthur Lowe, John Le Mesurier, Clive Dunn, John Laurie and others.

Series 3, Episode 1 is repeated on Gold on Monday 4th October at 11:25am.

All Series

Series 1 (1968)

14th May, 1940: to protect Britain a new military force called the Local Defence Volunteers, later the Home Guard, is created. The Walmington-on-Sea bank manager George Mainwaring makes himself captain of the platoon. Surely nothing can go wrong - apart from the lack of weapons, uniforms, or even know-how.

Episode Guide

Series 2 (1969)

In the second series, Mainwaring leads his men in an exercise against some full-time soldiers; the platoon mistakenly think the invasion has begun; and Wilson wrongly suspects that he has gotten Mrs. Pike pregnant. Most of this series was wiped by the BBC, but some recordings have been re-discovered.

Episode Guide

Series 3 (1969)

The first series in colour sees Jones lending his butcher's van to the platoon only for it to be converted to gas; Mainwaring and Wilson having to hold onto an unexploded bomb in the bank's vault; and Godfrey being made an outcast after he reveals that he was once a conscientious objector.

Episode Guide

Series 4 (1970)

In Series 4 Pike finds himself stuck in a bog; Frazer finds himself underwater; Jones finds himself being accused of cowardice; and Mainwaring finds himself in love with another woman.

Episode Guide

Battle Of The Giants! (1971)

Humiliated by Square's comments for his lack of old service medals, Mainwaring and his opposite commit their men to a high-stakes contest of skill, initiative and military cunning. Which is the better body of men - but more to the point, who is the better commander?

Episode Guide

Series 5 (1972)

Series 5 sees Mainwaring dream of being Napoleon; Walker responsible for causing a dramatic fall in the number of pigeons in Trafalgar Square; Frazer temporarily promoted to captain; and Hodges manage to land Mainwaring in court, in front of chief magistrate Captain Square.

Episode Guide

Series 6 (1973)

Mainwaring and his men finally get to meet some Germans when they asked to look after a captured U-boat crew. Also, the platoon welcome some American soldiers and Wilson suddenly becomes 'Honourable'. This is the last series to star James Beck as Private Walker, due to his untimely death.

Episode Guide

Series 7 (1974)

A new temporary recruit, Welsh journalist Cheeseman, joins the platoon to report on the Home Guard for the local paper. During this time, Mainwaring puts Walmington under martial law, is accused of having an affair with Mrs. Fox, and gets his own Rolls-Royce staff car.

Episode Guide

Series 8 (1975)

In the eighth series, Pike is past fit to join the regular army; Godfrey's cottage is under threat of demolition; and Mainwaring has to deal with an unwanted visit from his drunken brother Barry.

Episode Guide

The Love Of Three Oranges (1976)

After an unpleasant incident involving wet bath enamel, Elizabeth Mainwaring is in a particularly bad mood. As the parish council hosts a bazaar in aid of troop comforts, George has his sights set on an orange to placate her.

Episode Guide

Series 9 (1977)

In the final series Mainwaring and Hodges unite to give Walmington a fright; Frazer is discovered to be hoarding gold sovereigns; and Jones finally asks Mrs. Fox to marry him.

Episode Guide