Breaking The News. Des Clarke. Copyright: BBC.

Breaking The News

BBC Radio Scotland panel show about the news. 206 episodes (20 series), 2015 - 2021. Stars Des Clarke and Jim Smith.

Next new episode is on Friday at 1:30pm. Series 20, Episode 2
Catch-up on Episode 1 on BBC Sounds
Recording at Summerhall (Edinburgh). Tickets

Series 15

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Friday 21st February 2020

Des Clarke is joined at Edinburgh's Summerhall by Athena Kugblenu, Jay Lafferty, Raymond Mearns and Jim Smith.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Friday 28th February 2020

Des Clarke presents the topical comedy news review from Websters Theatre in Glasgow, with help from guests Kaye Adams, Elaine Malcolmson, Mark Nelson and Jim Smith.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Friday 6th March 2020

Des Clarke is joined at Websters Theatre in Glasgow this week by Lucy Porter, Ashley Storrie, Andrew Maxwell and Jamie MacDonald.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Friday 13th March 2020

Des Clarke is at Drygate Brewery this week, with Susie McCabe, Sophie Duker, Lewis MacLeod and Jim Smith.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Friday 20th March 2020

Des Clarke is joined this week by Janey Godley, Mark Nelson, Jay Lafferty and Bruce Devlin.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Friday 27th March 2020

Des Clarke presents the topical comedy news review show that takes a satirical slant on the week's headlines, with guests Stuart Mitchell, Elaine Malcolmson, Ray Bradshaw and Ashley Storrie.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Friday 3rd April 2020

Taking a satirical swipe at Scotland's news with host Des Clarke are Mark Nelson, Marjolein Robertson, Billy Kirkwood and Amy Matthews.


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Friday 10th April 2020

Host Des Clarke demolishes the headlines with partners in crime Jay Lafferty, Susie McCabe, Jamie MacDonald and Jim Smith.


9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Friday 17th April 2020

Des Clarke breaks the news and guests Jo Caulfield, Janey Godley, Ray Bradshaw and Bruce Devlin do their best to put it back together - award winning satirical comedy.


10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Friday 24th April 2020

Host Des Clarke takes a satirical sledgehammer to the week's headlines - joined by partners in crime Neil Delamere, Ashley Storrie, Jojo Sutherland and Christopher Macarthur-Boyd.


11. Episode Eleven

First broadcast: Friday 1st May 2020

Des Clarke is joined by Fred MacAulay, Amy Matthews, Marc Jennings and Marjolein Robertson.


12. Episode Twelve

First broadcast: Friday 8th May 2020

Des Clarke is joined by Jay Lafferty, Raymond Mearns, Jo Caulfield and Gareth Waugh.