British Comedy Guide

Comedy shows in the running for Broadcast Digital Awards 2017

Thursday 18th May 2017, 12:08pm

Bad Snappers. Image shows from L to R: Georgie (Georgie Fuller), Danni (Danni Jackson).

A number of British comedy programmes and shorts are in the running for the Broadcast Digital Awards, the industry prize giving ceremony that aims to celebrate "the most creative and innovative digital content in the UK" and takes in content across "digital channels, second screen content, multiplatform projects and original content produced online."

The organisers say: "The judges have spoken! After watching hours of footage, pouring over stacks of viewing figures and comparing reams and reams of social #content, we locked our judges away to debate who has produced the very best work in broadcast and digital over the past year."

They add: "In a year of incredible entries our judges were faced with some tough decisions, so a huge congratulations to everyone who has made the list."

Here are the comedy-related nominations:

Best Scripted Programme

Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle. Alan Partridge (Steve Coogan). Copyright: Baby Cow Productions.Alan Partridge's Scissored Isle (Sky Atlantic)

Chewing Gum. Tracey Gordon (Michaela Coel). Copyright: Retort.Chewing Gum (E4)

Fleabag. Image shows from L to R: Fleabag (Phoebe Waller-Bridge), Bank Manager (Hugh Dennis). Copyright: Two Brothers Pictures.Fleabag (BBC Three)

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper), Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper). Copyright: BBC.This Country (BBC Three)

Other nominees: Murdered By My Father, The Tunnel: Sabotage.

Best Entertainment Programme

Celebrity Juice. Image shows from L to R: Holly Willoughby, Leigh Francis, Fearne Cotton. Copyright: Talkback.Celebrity Juice (ITV2)

Murder In Successville. DI Sleet (Tom Davis). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.Murder In Successville (BBC Three)

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.Taskmaster (Dave)

Unspun With Matt Forde. Matt Forde. Copyright: Avalon Television.Unspun With Matt Forde (Dave)

Other nominees: Love Island, Release The Hounds.

Best Scripted Online Short

#HoodDocumentary. R.S (Kayode Ewumi).#HoodDocumentary (BBC Three)

Bad Snappers. Image shows from L to R: Georgie (Georgie Fuller), Danni (Danni Jackson).Bad Snappers (Comedy Central)

Other nominees: Fright Bites, Frightbusters, Like Me, Refugee

Elsewhere in the nominations Dave storytelling show Crackanory is nominated under Best Content Partnership for its collaboration with Audible and Beano Studios - which has published a number of comedy sketches on its website and YouTube - is in the Best Digital Children's Content category.

The results will be announced at a ceremony on the 5th July. Full shortlist

Share this page

Related Guides

Latest news