BBC Comedy College Page 3

Quote: Mark @ February 8, 2008, 7:05 PM

"Basically, the college is for people who have already done something/achieved something rather than for absolute beginners. It's designed to be a step up rather than a way in. People will be asked to send in work - either narrative or sketches, and initially assessed on that."

So it won't just be 'send stuff in' as they'd got thousands.

I wonder what 'achieving something' means?

It'd be good if they worked on a recommendations basis - like referees on a job application form.

You just keep piling the good news on and on Laughing out loud

That's the Slaggs bolloxed whichever way you look at it.

To apply for the college, people will need to have achieved something rather than being absolute beginners, because the course isn't planned for absolute beginners. There are already many more mentors than we need to cover six 'students', so I will be able to arrange suitable matches. And better to be a walnut than a peanut.

Not sure what you mean by absolute beginners, because surely you'd only pick the best writers, and many of which will be absolute beginners when it comes down to real production anyway.

Nice to see you here, but I think we need to see further proof of the walnut thing though

Quote: Micheal Jacob @ February 11, 2008, 5:00 PM

And better to be a walnut than a peanut.

That depends on whether you want to be a Snickers bar or a Waldorf salad...

kjs

Quote: Rob B @ February 11, 2008, 5:13 PM

Not sure what you mean by absolute beginners, because surely you'd only pick the best writers, and many of which will be absolute beginners when it comes down to real production anyway.

Nice to see you here, but I think we need to see further proof of the walnut thing though

In the drama academy one, they were looking for people who had written a broadcast episode of a drama series, or written a radio play or a performed stage play, so absolute beginners were ruled out from the very beginning.