4 O'Clock Club. Copyright: BBC.

4 O'Clock Club

CBBC sitcom about a school. 104 episodes (8 series), 2012 - 2019. Stars Simon Lowe, Dan Wright, Daniel Kerr, Lewis Brindley and others.

Next new episode is on Wednesday at 5pm. Series 8, Special
Catch-up on Episode 8 on BBC iPlayer

4 O'Clock Club. Copyright: BBC.

4 O'Clock Club

Musical CBBC comedy based around the pupils and teachers at a school

2012 - 2019
104   (8 series), plus 3 flashback specials
Ben Bailey Smith and Paul Rose
Simon Lowe, Dan Wright, Daniel Kerr, Lewis Brindley, Layton Blake, Chloe Davison, Grace McIntosh, Cara Jenkins and others
Paul Rose, Mark Oswin, Gerard Foster, Madeleine Brettingham and Julia Kent
Matt Bloom, Dermot Boyd, Julie Edwards, John Howlett, Tim Hopewell, Alex Jacob, Emma Sullivan and Ian Aryeh
Spencer Campbell, Julia Kent, Dominic MacDonald, Stuart Blackburn and Connal Orton

Comedy about the pupils at a school.

The first few series focus on Josh Carter. He is master of all he surveys - particularly his school, the run-down Elmsbury High. His art of manipulating everyone and everything on school grounds is second only to his desire to become a rap superstar. But Josh's perfect world soon comes crumbling down. Ten years ago, another Carter named Nathan walked out of Elmsbury High in disgrace having spent his entire time as a pupil creating mischief of the highest order. Funnily enough, his art of manipulating everyone and everything on school grounds was second only to his desire to become a rap superstar. Now he's washed up. He's hit rock bottom. In fact - lower than rock bottom: he's training to be a teacher. His first placement: Elmsbury High, where the same Head remembers him with disgust, the custard is still served by the slice and a 13 year-old boy is about to embark on an all out war with his own brother.

In the second series we see less of Nathan, as he leaves Elmsbury to take up a teaching post in Scotland. Another young teacher called Dexter enthusiastically steps up to run the 4 O'Clock Club in his place. Dexter is also the new lodger at Josh's house.

The third series started with Nathan and Miss Poppy's wedding day. Josh is now forced to share his room with his annoying cousin Nero. Meanwhile Elmsbury burns down and so the pupils go to a new school for a bit, Fowlmere.

Series 4 saw the departure of Josh and some of the other characters who had been in the show from the start. The programme shifted to focus more on Dexter and Nero.

Series 7, is when it is time for Nero to leave Elmsbury. As a result, the action shifts again, this time to focus more on characters including Polly.

Production Details

Production company
Also known as
  • Four O'Clock Club (Other official name)
  • 4 O'Clock Club: Flashbacks
Laugh track

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Friday 13th January 2012 on CBBC at 5:30pm
Last new broadcast
Sunday 21st April 2019 on CBBC at 5pm
Length of episodes
30 minutes
Upcoming repeats
  1. Series 8 Episode 9: Wednesday at 8pm on CBBC

Website links


Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • View broadcast details of 1278 past repeats

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?