British Comedy Guide

The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

Next new episode is on Thursday at 6:30pm. The Hexagonal Phase, Episode 3
Catch-up on Episode 2 on BBC iPlayer Radio   The Hexagonal Phase, Episode 2 is repeated on Radio 4 Extra on Thursday at 7:30am.

The Primary Phase, Episode 5 - Fit The Fifth

Sent to find the Ultimate Question to Life, the Universe and Everything, Arthur Dent and his companions have been cornered by two humane cops who, nevertheless, have left them in a certain-death situation.

Full synopsis

Arthur, Ford, Zaphod and Trillian discover that the explosion caused them to travel forward through time. They are at Milliways: The Restaurant at the End of the Universe. Here, they wine and dine whilst all of creation is destroyed around them.

Zaphod then gets a telephone call from Marvin, who has been waiting for his return for several billion years. Everyone meets up in the car park, and they steal a space ship which is totally black.

As everything in the ship is black, they cannot control it. During the voyage, Marvin claims that he is able to tell what the Ultimate Question is by reading Arthur's brain wave patterns. However, they are distracted when they discover that they are going backwards through time, at which point they discover that the ship they stole is at the head of an intergalactic battle fleet.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 5th April 1978
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


  1. Saturday 5th April 2014 at 6:00pm on Radio 4 Extra
  2. Sunday 6th April 2014 at 12:00am on Radio 4 Extra
  3. Saturday 1st November 2014 at 2:30pm on Radio 4 Extra
  4. Sunday 28th August 2016 at 6:30pm on Radio 4 Extra
  5. Monday 29th August 2016 at 12:30am on Radio 4 Extra

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Simon Jones Arthur Dent
Geoffrey McGivern Ford Prefect
Peter Jones The Book
Mark Wing-Davey Zaphod Beeblebrox
Stephen Moore Marvin
Susan Sheridan Trillian
Guest cast
Anthony Sharp Garkbit
Anthony Sharp Zarquon
Roy Hudd Max Quordlepleen
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer
John Lloyd Writer

Share this page