The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

The Primary Phase, Episode 2 - Fit The Second

After being saved from certain death during the demolition of the Earth, Arthur Dent now faces a hopeless choice between meeting certain death in the vacuum of space or finding something pleasant to say about Vogon poetry.

Further details

After failing to please Prostetnic Vogon Jeltz on the matter of his poetry, Arthur and Ford are thrown out of the ship. However, they escape death when they are picked up a space ship with the new Infinite Improbability Drive.

To add to the increasing levels of improbability, the ship in question, the Heart of Gold was stolen by Ford's semi-cousin and the Galactic President, Zaphod Beeblebrox. Also on board is Trillian (Tricia McMillan), a woman that Arthur once met at a party in Islington, but who ended up going with Zaphod, thus escaping Earth before it got demolished.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 15th March 1978
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Simon Jones Arthur Dent
Geoffrey McGivern Ford Prefect
Peter Jones The Book
Mark Wing-Davey Zaphod Beeblebrox
Stephen Moore Marvin
Susan Sheridan Trillian
Bill Wallis The Vogon Captain
David Tate Eddie
Guest cast
David Tate Vogon Guard
Stephen Moore Gag Halfrunt
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 6 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?