The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

The Secondary Phase, Episode 1 - Fit The Eighth

Zaphod Beeblebrox and his mysterious friend Roosta are being taken in a flying building to the evil Frogstar, whilst Ford Prefect and Arthur Dent are stranded on prehistoric Earth. Some of them are getting hungry.

Further details

On their way to the Frogstar, Roosta tells Zaphod that he is to be fed into the 'Total Perspective Vortex', the greatest torture a sentient being can face.

Back on pre-historic Earth, Arthur and Ford decide to wave Ford's towel to attract the space ship. In doing so, the ship crash lands onto the planet. The towel lands in some lava caused by the crash, is fossilised and is picked by the Improbability Drive after the Earth is demolished. What is more, Zaphod is driving, having survived the Total Perspective Vortex.

Zaphod then goes on to tell the story of how he managed to survive the Total Perspective Vortex, in which he sees the entire universe and himself in relation to it, and discovers his ego is as big as the entire universe.

Broadcast details

Monday 21st January 1980
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Simon Jones Arthur Dent
Geoffrey McGivern Ford Prefect
Peter Jones The Book
Mark Wing-Davey Zaphod Beeblebrox
David Tate Eddie
Guest cast
Alan Ford Roosta
David Tate Frogstar Prisoner Relations Officer
Valentine Dyall Gargravarr
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 5 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?