The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

The Primary Phase

1. Fit The First

First broadcast: Wednesday 8th March 1978

In which the Earth is unexpectedly destroyed and the great Hitch-Hike begins.

In-depth Guide

2. Fit The Second

First broadcast: Wednesday 15th March 1978

After being saved from certain death during the demolition of the Earth, Arthur Dent now faces a hopeless choice between meeting certain death in the vacuum of space or finding something pleasant to say about Vogon poetry.

In-depth Guide

3. Fit The Third

First broadcast: Wednesday 22nd March 1978

After being improbably rescued from certain death in the vacuum of space, Arthur Dent and his new companions now face a missile attack and certain death.

In-depth Guide

4. Fit The Fourth

First broadcast: Wednesday 29th March 1978

It has been revealed to Arthur that the Earth has been built by the Magratheans and run by mice. Meanwhile his companions have been suddenly confronted by something nasty (probably certain death).

In-depth Guide

5. Fit The Fifth

First broadcast: Wednesday 5th April 1978

Sent to find the Ultimate Question to Life, the Universe and Everything, Arthur Dent and his companions have been cornered by two humane cops who, nevertheless, have left them in a certain-death situation.

In-depth Guide

6. Fit The Sixth

First broadcast: Wednesday 12th April 1978

Will the Ultimate Question to Life, the Universe and Everything (to which the answer is forty-two) be discovered?

Will our heroes be able to control their newly stolen spaceship and the enormous fleet of black battle cruisers that is following them?

Will all end happily or in the certain death that has threatened them so persistently?

In-depth Guide

The Primary Phase Products