The cast of the radio series. Copyright: BBC / Above The Title Productions.

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about space travel. 32 episodes (6 series), 1978 - 2018. Stars Simon Jones, Geoffrey McGivern, Peter Jones, William Franklyn and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Simon Jones Arthur Dent
Geoffrey McGivern Ford Prefect
Peter Jones The Book (Series 1-3 & 5)
William Franklyn The Book (Series 3-5)
John Lloyd The Book (Series 6)
Mark Wing-Davey Zaphod Beeblebrox (Series 1-3 & 5-6)
Stephen Moore Marvin (Series 1-5)
Susan Sheridan Trillian (Series 1-3 & 5-6)
Sandra Dickinson Trillian (Series 4-6)
Jane Horrocks Fenchurch (Series 4-6)
Rula Lenska Voice of the Bird (Series 4-5)
Bill Wallis The Vogon Captain (Series 1-2)
Toby Longworth Prostetnic Vogon Jeltz (Series 4-6)
David Tate Eddie (Series 1-2)
Roger Gregg Eddie (Series 3 & 5)
Jonathan Pryce Zarniwoop (Series 2 & 5)
Richard Vernon Slartibartfast (Series 1)
Richard Griffiths Slartibartfast (Series 3)
Samantha BĂ©art (as Sam Burke) Random (Series 5-6)
Writing team
Douglas Adams Writer
Eoin Colfer Writer (Series 6)
Dirk Maggs Writer (Adapted By) (Series 6)
Production team
Dirk Maggs Director (Series 6)
Dirk Maggs Producer (Series 3-6)
David Morley Producer (Series 6)
Helen Chattwell Producer (Series 6)
John Marsh Announcer (Series 6)

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides