The Thin Blue Line. Image shows from L to R: D.I. Grim (David Haig), P.C. Habib (Mina Anwar), Inspector Fowler (Rowan Atkinson), P.C. Goody (James Dreyfus), D.C. Boyle (Mark Addy), Sergeant Dawkins (Serena Evans), P.C. Gladstone (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.

The Thin Blue Line

BBC One sitcom about the team at a small town police station. 14 episodes (2 series), 1995 - 1996. Stars Rowan Atkinson, David Haig, Serena Evans, James Dreyfus and others.

Series 2, Episode 3 - Fly On The Wall

A television crew has come to Gasforth to make a documentary about policing. Naturally, Fowler's officers see it as their chance for stardom.

Further details

Under pressure from both his officers and an ever self-obsessed D.I. Grim, Fowler agrees for a BBC film crew to come to the station to film a fly-on-the-wall documentary pilot.

This proves to be a big mistake as his officers go overboard in attempting to define themselves as interesting characters and look good on the telly: Grim spends his entire time pretending to be taking phone calls from people reporting serious crimes; Gladstone begins singing and telling bad jokes; Goody has his hair dyed and begins a ventriloquist act with a sock; Boyle casts himself as a 'cool guy'; Patricia starts tap-dancing behind the front desk; and Habib ends up being mistaken for a prostitute!

This all proves too much for Fowler but before he can demand the crew leave the premises, an elderly gentleman arrives saying he wants to be on TV. As he pulls out a gun and starts waving it in Raymond's direction, it seems the film crew could have some truly remarkable television to capture.

Broadcast details

Thursday 28th November 1996
30 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Rowan Atkinson Inspector Fowler
    David Haig D.I. Grim
    Serena Evans Sergeant Dawkins
    James Dreyfus P.C. Goody
    Mina Anwar P.C. Habib
    Rudolph Walker P.C. Gladstone
    Mark Addy D.C. Boyle
    Guest cast
    Alan Cox Bob Tough (TV Director)
    Trevor Peacock Turnip Man
    Dawn McDaniel Nurse Masseuse
    Walter Sparrow Mr Rowbotham (Elderly Man)
    Writing team
    Ben Elton Writer
    Production team
    John Birkin Director
    Geoffrey Perkins Producer
    Ben Elton Producer
    Peter Bennett-Jones Executive Producer
    Steve Tempia Editor
    Charlie Fawcett Editor
    James Dillon Production Designer
    Howard Goodall Composer

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 18 past repeats of this episode

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?