The IT Crowd. Image shows from L to R: Moss (Richard Ayoade), Jen (Katherine Parkinson), Roy (Chris O'Dowd). Copyright: TalkbackThames.

The IT Crowd

Channel 4 sitcom about a computer support team. 25 episodes (4 series), 2006 - 2013. Stars Chris O'Dowd, Richard Ayoade, Katherine Parkinson, Chris Morris and others.

Series 1, Episode 1 - Yesterday's Jam

The unloved, ignored, socially-awkward Roy and Moss make up the I.T. department of Reynholm Industries. Their world is shattered by the arrival of Jen, a new 'relationship manager'.

Further details

Jen, a young woman who knows as much about computers as your average 17th-century farmer, joins socially-awkward Roy and Moss in the basement of Reynholm Industries.

Roy and Moss are annoyed by Jen's obvious lack of computer literacy, while Jen is equally gutted to be exiled to 'middle earth', a dingy basement where the I.T. department is located. However, it isn't long before Roy and Moss realise that a female presence in their team can have its benefits...


Episode double-bill to launch the new series.

Broadcast details

Friday 3rd February 2006
Channel 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Chris O'Dowd Roy
Richard Ayoade Moss
Katherine Parkinson Jen
Chris Morris Denholm Reynholm
Guest cast
John Willie Hopkins Postman Harry
Nancy Lodder Office Girl
Laura Pyper Laura
Pete Deagle Office Worker
Writing team
Graham Linehan Writer
Production team
Graham Linehan Director
Ben Gosling Fuller (as Ben Fuller) Director
Ash Atalla Producer
Derrin Schlesinger Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 35 further repeats of this episode
  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?