The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 4, Episode 4 - Sacked

At Cottam's reitrement party, Bob and Dave mistake his female successor for the stripper they've booked. An authoritarian, she doesn't take kindly to the mistake and submits them for psychological testing under threat of the sack...

Broadcast details

Thursday 7th March 1996
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Frank Windsor Chief Superintendent
Tony Selby Sgt. 'Nozzer' Richardson
Ann Mitchell Superintendent Simmons
Paul Bigley Clown
Pamela Cundell Granny-o-gram
Anthony Jackson First Copper
Mark Steel Pike (Second Copper)
Jeremy Turner-Welch Third Copper
Faith Flint Amanda
Dicken Ashworth Derek (Landlord)
Max Digby D.C. Hopkins
Edward Highmore Doctor
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Steve Knight Director
Nic Phillips Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, composer & editor credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?