The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions
The Detectives

The Detectives

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1993 - 1997
  • 31 episodes (5 series)

Sitcom starring Robert Powell and Jasper Carrott as Dave Briggs and Bob Louis, the Met's most incompetent detectives. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Episode menu

Series 4, Episode 2 - Fur Coat No Knickers

Following a genuine killing during a mediaevel battle re-enactment, all Bob and Dave have to go on is that the chief suspect was wearing purple underpants.

Broadcast details

Thursday 22nd February 1996
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Frank Windsor Chief Superintendent
Derek Fowlds Derek Alsopp
Ken Jones King Harold
Paul Chapman William the Conqueror
Steve Speirs (as Steven Speirs) Bruce
Dean Harris First Policeman
Kemal Sylvester Second Policeman
David Barber Big Saxon/Barman
Jeremy Sinden Doctor
Eve Bland Joanne
Matthew Ashforde Norman Lute Player
David Hatton Hotspur
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Graeme Harper Director
Nic Phillips Executive Producer
Mark Sangster Editor
Andy Hamilton Production Designer
Keith Strachan Composer
Matthew Strachan Composer

Share this page