Broadcast Awards 2019 nominations

Thursday 22nd November 2018, 9:30am

Broadcast Awards.

The nominations for the Broadcast Awards 2019 have been revealed. The awards are run by the TV industry's respected trade magazine.

Best Comedy Programme

Derry Girls. Image shows from L to R: James Maguire (Dylan Llewellyn), Erin Quinn (Saoirse-Monica Jackson), Michelle Mallon (Jamie-Lee O'Donnell), Clare Devlin (Nicola Coughlan), Orla McCool (Louisa Harland). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.Derry Girls

Detectorists. Image shows from L to R: Lance Stater (Toby Jones), Andy Stone (Mackenzie Crook). Copyright: BBC.Detectorists

Mum. Cathy (Lesley Manville).Mum

Stath Lets Flats. Stath (Jamie Demetriou). Copyright: Roughcut Television.Stath Lets Flats

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.This Country

The Windsors. Image shows from L to R: Harry (Richard Goulding), Charles (Harry Enfield), Camilla (Haydn Gwynne), Wills (Hugh Skinner). Copyright: Noho Film and TV.The Windsors

Best Entertainment Programme

Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway

Celebrity Hunted

Love Island

Strictly Come Dancing

Taskmaster. Image shows from L to R: Greg Davies, Alex Horne. Copyright: Avalon Television.Taskmaster

The Big Narstie Show. Image shows from L to R: Big Narstie, Mo Gilligan.The Big Narstie Show

Other comedy-related nominations

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper), Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper). Copyright: BBC.Mest Multichannel Programme: Taskmaster, This Country, Drugsland, Killed By My Debt, Love Island, Valley Cops.

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing. Image shows from L to R: Paul Whitehouse, Bob Mortimer. Copyright: Owl Power.Best Original Programme: Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing, The Big Narstie Show, Married to A Paedophile, Men Who Sleep in Cars, Peng Life, The Mighty Redcar.

Shakespeare & Hathaway - Private Investigators. Image shows from L to R: Frank Hathaway (Mark Benton), Luella Shakespeare (Jo Joyner). Copyright: BBC.Best Daytime Programme: Shakespeare & Hathaway - Private Investigators, Buy It Now, Escape to the Chateau: DIY, Moving On - Invisible, Murder, Mystery and My Family, Richard Osman's House of Games.

The End Of The F***ing World. Image shows from L to R: Alyssa (Jessica Barden), James (Alex Lawther).Best Drama Series or Serial: The End Of The F***ing World, A Very English Scandal, Bodyguard, Kiri, Patrick Melrose, Save Me.

Eric, Ernie And Me. Image shows from L to R: Ernie Wise (Neil Maskell), Eddie Braben (Stephen Tompkinson), Eric Morecambe (Mark Bonnar). Copyright: Objective Productions.Best Single Drama: Eric, Ernie And Me, Black Mirror: USS Callister, Killed by my Debt, The Boy with The Topknot, The Child in Time[/i], The Miniaturist.

Horrible Histories. Tom Stourton. Copyright: Lion Television.Best Children's Programme: Horrible Histories, Deadly Dinosaurs, Free Rein, Jamie Johnson, Last Commanders, My Life: Locked in Boy.

Waffle The Wonder Dog.Best Pre-School Programme: Waffle The Wonder Dog, Claude, Becca's Bunch, Deian a Loli, Pablo, School of Roars.

The results will be announced at London's Grosvenor Hotel on 6th February 2019, during a ceremony hosted by Harry Hill.

In total across all genres, the BBC has 57 shortlisted programmes, with Channel 4 next at 28 nominations. The full list of nominations can be seen on

Related Guides

Latest news