Last Of The Summer Wine. Image shows from L to R: Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst (Brian Wilde), William 'Compo' Simmonite (Bill Owen), Norman Clegg (Peter Sallis). Copyright: BBC
Last Of The Summer Wine

Last Of The Summer Wine

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1973 - 2010
  • 295 episodes (31 series)

Gentle sitcom following a group of pensioners living in Yorkshire. This show was Britain's longest-running TV sitcom. Stars Bill Owen, Peter Sallis, Frank Thornton, Brian Murphy, Michael Bates and more.

Episode menu

Series 9, Episode 11 - Wind Power

Even in the extreme cold, Seymour has an avid interest in the power of the wind. But how can he harness all that free energy for the everlasting good of mankind? With the steadying help of Clegg; an old pair of roller skates; an improvised sail; and a gullible test-pilot, he sets out to make history.


This episode was originally scheduled as Episode 12, for broadcast on Sunday 22nd March.

Broadcast details

Sunday 15th March 1987
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 9th January 2012 2:00pm Yesterday
Monday 9th January 2012 7:55pm Yesterday
Wednesday 7th March 2012 7:00am Gold
Wednesday 7th March 2012 9:20am Gold
Saturday 10th March 2012 8:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 11th March 2012 7:40pm Yesterday
Saturday 26th May 2012 8:40am Gold
Saturday 26th May 2012 1:40pm Gold
Thursday 22nd November 2012 11:00am Gold
Thursday 22nd November 2012 11:40am Gold
Monday 11th February 2013 11:40am Gold
Monday 11th February 2013 5:40pm Gold
Thursday 21st March 2013 5:55pm Yesterday
Thursday 21st March 2013 8:20pm Yesterday
Sunday 21st July 2013 7:40am Gold
Thursday 21st November 2013 4:35pm Gold
Friday 22nd November 2013 10:55am Gold
Monday 21st March 2016 9:20am Gold
Monday 21st March 2016 4:40pm Gold
Thursday 21st July 2016 10:00am Gold
Tuesday 16th August 2016 1:00pm Drama
Tuesday 16th August 2016 6:40pm Drama
Wednesday 22nd March 2017 4:40pm Gold
Thursday 23rd March 2017 11:20am Gold
Monday 18th September 2017 1:00pm Drama
Monday 18th September 2017 6:40pm Drama
Thursday 16th November 2017 11:20am Gold
Thursday 16th November 2017 5:20pm Gold
Wednesday 25th July 2018 9:10am Gold
Wednesday 25th July 2018 3:55pm Gold
Monday 14th January 2019 10:40am Gold
Monday 14th January 2019 4:40pm Gold
Wednesday 29th May 2019 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 29th May 2019 2:40pm Gold
Thursday 30th May 2019 7:20pm Drama
Thursday 31st October 2019 10:40am Gold
Thursday 31st October 2019 3:20pm Gold
Wednesday 8th April 2020 11:40am Gold
Wednesday 8th April 2020 5:40pm Gold
Friday 5th June 2020 6:40pm Drama
Wednesday 12th August 2020 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 12th August 2020 4:00pm Gold
Wednesday 10th March 2021 7:20pm Drama
Friday 12th March 2021 10:20am Gold
Friday 12th March 2021 5:00pm Gold
Tuesday 28th September 2021 9:40am Gold
Tuesday 28th September 2021 4:40pm Gold
Monday 17th January 2022 6:40pm Drama
Tuesday 10th May 2022 11:10am Gold
Tuesday 10th May 2022 5:05pm Gold
Tuesday 26th July 2022 7:20pm Drama
Tuesday 3rd January 2023 11:20am Gold
Tuesday 3rd January 2023 4:00pm Gold
Thursday 2nd March 2023 7:20pm Drama
Wednesday 12th July 2023 11:20am Gold
Wednesday 12th July 2023 4:00pm Gold
Wednesday 13th September 2023 6:40pm Drama
Thursday 15th February 2024 11:20am Gold
Thursday 15th February 2024 4:35pm Gold
Friday 5th April 2024 6:40pm Drama

Cast & crew

Bill Owen William 'Compo' Simmonite
Peter Sallis Norman Clegg
Michael Aldridge Seymour Utterthwaite
Kathy Staff Nora Batty
Jane Freeman Ivy
Joe Gladwin Wally Batty
Jonathan Linsley 'Crusher' Milburn
Gordon Wharmby Wesley Pegden
Thora Hird Edith Pegden
Writing team
Roy Clarke Writer
Production team
Alan J. W. Bell Director
Alan J. W. Bell Producer
Ian Williams Editor
John Wilkinson Editor
Stephan Paczai Production Designer
Peter Halston Costume Designer
Martha Livesley Make-up Designer
Peter Smee Lighting Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page