Last Of The Summer Wine. Image shows from L to R: Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst (Brian Wilde), William 'Compo' Simmonite (Bill Owen), Norman Clegg (Peter Sallis). Copyright: BBC
Last Of The Summer Wine

Last Of The Summer Wine

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1973 - 2010
  • 295 episodes (31 series)

Gentle sitcom following a group of pensioners living in Yorkshire. This show was Britain's longest-running TV sitcom. Stars Bill Owen, Peter Sallis, Frank Thornton, Brian Murphy, Michael Bates and more.

Episode menu

Series 5, Episode 1 - Full Steam Behind

Foggy takes Compo and Clegg to see a piece of history - the Steam Preservation Society's reopening of an old railway line.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 18th September 1979
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 17th November 2011 2:00pm Yesterday
Thursday 17th November 2011 8:20pm Yesterday
Saturday 24th December 2011 2:00pm Yesterday
Friday 10th February 2012 7:00am Gold
Friday 10th February 2012 9:20am Gold
Monday 9th April 2012 2:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 22nd April 2012 6:05am Gold
Sunday 29th April 2012 11:00am Gold
Thursday 11th October 2012 11:00am Gold
Thursday 11th October 2012 5:00pm Gold
Saturday 1st December 2012 8:00pm Yesterday
Sunday 2nd December 2012 7:15pm Yesterday
Monday 21st January 2013 11:40am Gold
Monday 21st January 2013 5:40pm Gold
Thursday 24th January 2013 2:20pm Yesterday
Thursday 24th January 2013 7:20pm Yesterday
Saturday 11th May 2013 6:50am Gold
Monday 29th February 2016 10:40am Gold
Friday 24th June 2016 1:00pm Drama
Friday 24th June 2016 6:40pm Drama
Tuesday 5th July 2016 10:20am Gold
Tuesday 5th July 2016 10:20am Gold
Monday 6th March 2017 4:25pm Gold
Tuesday 7th March 2017 10:40am Gold
Wednesday 26th July 2017 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 26th July 2017 6:40pm Drama
Tuesday 31st October 2017 10:50am Gold
Tuesday 31st October 2017 4:40pm Gold
Monday 9th July 2018 10:40am Gold
Monday 9th July 2018 4:40pm Gold
Tuesday 30th October 2018 9:30am Gold
Tuesday 30th October 2018 3:20pm Gold
Wednesday 3rd April 2019 7:20pm Drama
Friday 3rd May 2019 10:35am Gold
Friday 3rd May 2019 3:15pm Gold
Tuesday 15th October 2019 10:05am Gold
Tuesday 15th October 2019 2:30pm Gold
Monday 23rd March 2020 11:10am Gold
Monday 23rd March 2020 5:00pm Gold
Thursday 7th May 2020 7:20pm Drama
Friday 24th July 2020 12:00pm Gold
Friday 24th July 2020 5:20pm Gold
Friday 12th February 2021 6:40pm Drama
Tuesday 16th February 2021 9:40am Gold
Tuesday 16th February 2021 4:20pm Gold
Wednesday 1st September 2021 10:40am Gold
Wednesday 1st September 2021 5:40pm Gold
Tuesday 30th November 2021 7:20pm Drama
Tuesday 12th April 2022 10:30am Gold
Tuesday 12th April 2022 4:25pm Gold
Thursday 30th June 2022 6:40pm Drama
Tuesday 1st November 2022 10:10am Gold
Tuesday 1st November 2022 2:40pm Gold
Wednesday 1st February 2023 7:20pm Drama
Friday 16th June 2023 11:00am Gold
Friday 16th June 2023 3:40pm Gold
Wednesday 16th August 2023 7:20pm Drama
Monday 22nd January 2024 10:40am Gold
Monday 22nd January 2024 4:00pm Gold
Thursday 7th March 2024 7:20pm Drama

Cast & crew

Bill Owen William 'Compo' Simmonite
Peter Sallis Norman Clegg
Brian Wilde Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst
Writing team
Roy Clarke Writer
Production team
Sydney Lotterby Director
Sydney Lotterby Producer
David Yates Editor
Howard Dell Editor
Brian Willis Costume Designer
Peter Wesson Lighting Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer
Shelagh Lawson Production Designer
Christopher Criddle Costume Designer

Share this page