Last Of The Summer Wine. Image shows from L to R: Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst (Brian Wilde), William 'Compo' Simmonite (Bill Owen), Norman Clegg (Peter Sallis). Copyright: BBC
Last Of The Summer Wine

Last Of The Summer Wine

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1973 - 2010
  • 295 episodes (31 series)

Gentle sitcom following a group of pensioners living in Yorkshire. This show was Britain's longest-running TV sitcom. Stars Bill Owen, Peter Sallis, Frank Thornton, Brian Murphy, Michael Bates and more.

Episode menu

Series 13, Episode 1 - Quick, Quick, Slow

What could possibly dim the sunset glow that gilds the perennial boyhood of the three old reprobates as they drift through the timeless little Yorkshire town? For the hitherto irrepressible Compo it's the suspicion that Nora Batty's new lodger, Smiler is taking advantage of his privileged position. Fortunately, Foggy remembers a cure he learned in the jungle during the war.

Broadcast details

Friday 18th October 1991
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 12th June 2011 10:20am Gold
Thursday 21st July 2011 12:40pm Gold
Monday 17th October 2011 9:20am Gold
Monday 17th October 2011 3:20pm Gold
Monday 13th February 2012 2:00pm Yesterday
Monday 13th February 2012 7:50pm Yesterday
Friday 13th April 2012 7:05am Gold
Friday 13th April 2012 9:40am Gold
Saturday 5th May 2012 10:40pm Yesterday
Sunday 6th May 2012 6:40pm Yesterday
Monday 6th August 2012 9:20am Gold
Monday 6th August 2012 3:50pm Gold
Thursday 28th February 2013 11:00am Gold
Thursday 28th February 2013 5:00pm Gold
Wednesday 3rd July 2013 10:50am Gold
Saturday 16th November 2013 9:00pm Yesterday
Sunday 17th November 2013 7:00pm Yesterday
Tuesday 17th June 2014 11:00am Gold
Tuesday 17th June 2014 5:40pm Gold
Thursday 30th October 2014 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 14th January 2015 11:40am Gold
Wednesday 14th January 2015 5:00pm Gold
Tuesday 26th May 2015 2:40pm Gold
Thursday 7th April 2016 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 3rd August 2016 8:50am Gold
Wednesday 3rd August 2016 3:25pm Gold
Wednesday 21st September 2016 1:00pm Drama
Wednesday 21st September 2016 6:40pm Drama
Monday 3rd April 2017 5:30pm Gold
Tuesday 4th April 2017 12:25pm Gold
Monday 23rd October 2017 1:00pm Drama
Monday 23rd October 2017 6:40pm Drama
Wednesday 29th November 2017 10:00am Gold
Wednesday 29th November 2017 4:00pm Gold
Monday 6th August 2018 10:00am Gold
Monday 6th August 2018 4:40pm Gold
Thursday 24th January 2019 10:40am Gold
Thursday 24th January 2019 5:20pm Gold
Tuesday 11th June 2019 10:20am Gold
Tuesday 11th June 2019 4:20pm Gold
Thursday 4th July 2019 7:20pm Drama
Tuesday 12th November 2019 11:20am Gold
Tuesday 12th November 2019 4:00pm Gold
Tuesday 21st April 2020 10:25am Gold
Tuesday 21st April 2020 4:20pm Gold
Tuesday 23rd June 2020 7:20pm Drama
Monday 24th August 2020 11:00am Gold
Monday 24th August 2020 5:00pm Gold
Monday 29th March 2021 6:40pm Drama
Wednesday 31st March 2021 9:40am Gold
Wednesday 31st March 2021 4:20pm Gold
Thursday 14th October 2021 10:40am Gold
Thursday 14th October 2021 5:20pm Gold
Wednesday 2nd February 2022 7:20pm Drama
Friday 27th May 2022 10:30am Gold
Friday 27th May 2022 3:05pm Gold
Saturday 28th May 2022 8:25am Gold
Friday 12th August 2022 6:40pm Drama
Friday 20th January 2023 10:40am Gold
Friday 20th January 2023 3:20pm Gold
Tuesday 21st March 2023 6:40pm Drama
Monday 31st July 2023 10:40am Gold
Monday 31st July 2023 3:20pm Gold
Friday 29th September 2023 7:20pm Drama
Tuesday 5th March 2024 10:40am Gold
Tuesday 5th March 2024 4:00pm Gold
Tuesday 23rd April 2024 7:20pm Drama

Cast & crew

Bill Owen William 'Compo' Simmonite
Peter Sallis Norman Clegg
Brian Wilde Walter C. 'Foggy' Dewhurst
Kathy Staff Nora Batty
Sarah Thomas Glenda Wilkinson
Jean Fergusson Marina
Robert Fyfe Howard Sibshaw
Juliette Kaplan Pearl Sibshaw
Jane Freeman Ivy
Gordon Wharmby Wesley Pegden
Thora Hird Edith Pegden
Stephen Lewis Clem 'Smiler' Hemmingway
Writing team
Roy Clarke Writer
Production team
Alan J. W. Bell Director
Alan J. W. Bell Producer
Steve Jamison Editor
Mike Jackson Editor
Richard Brackenbury Production Designer
Doreen James Costume Designer
Lesley Smith Make-up Designer
Derek Slee Lighting Designer
Ronnie Hazlehurst Composer

Share this page