Happy Ever After. Image shows from L to R: June Fletcher (June Whitfield), Terry Fletcher (Terry Scott). Copyright: BBC.

Happy Ever After

BBC One sitcom about a middle-aged couple. 41 episodes (pilot + 5 series), 1974 - 1979. Stars Terry Scott, June Whitfield and Beryl Cooke.

Series 4

1. Hello Sailor

First broadcast: Thursday 8th September 1977

Terry decides to buy a boat, and the whole family set out for a trial weekend on board Nancy.


2. Talk Of The Devil

First broadcast: Thursday 15th September 1977

Terry and June get involved with the supernatural when Aunt Lucy thinks she may be getting messages from her 'dear Percy'.


3. You've Got To Have Art

First broadcast: Thursday 22nd September 1977

Terry takes a stab at sculpture.


4. A Proper Choice

First broadcast: Thursday 29th September 1977

An invitation to a fancy dress ball leads to a complicated journey.


5. He Who Excavates Is Last

First broadcast: Thursday 6th October 1977

The discovery of an old Roman coin in the back garden sets Terry off on a hunt for treasure.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 13th October 1977

"Marriage must never become monotonous," says Terry. "To get out of the rut we must be bold, daring and imaginative!"


7. Never Put It In Writing

First broadcast: Thursday 20th October 1977

June has found an old romantic letter from when Terry was in the navy. She encourages him to write another one but his efforts are misinterpreted by Aunt Lucy who thinks he's having an affair ...


Christmas Special

First broadcast: Friday 23rd December 1977

June has invited her parents for Christmas - which would normally upset Terry, but Aunt Lucy as tipped him the wink that they are quite rich and if he isn't nice to them he won't get any of it!


Buy Series 4