Happy Ever After. Image shows from L to R: June Fletcher (June Whitfield), Terry Fletcher (Terry Scott). Copyright: BBC
Happy Ever After

Happy Ever After

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1974 - 1979
  • 41 episodes (5 series)

Now that all the children have left, Terry and June Fletcher can look forward to doing all the things they have planned - until Aunt Lucy arrives. Stars Terry Scott, June Whitfield and Beryl Cooke.

Happy Ever After trivia

Mary Whitehouse complained that the Fletchers drank too much alcohol in the series.

Writer John Chapman felt that they had taken the characters as far as they could after Series 4 and so left the show. His co-writer, Eric Merriman, continued for one more series but, after a disagreement with the BBC, refused to waive his rights to the format. The corporation wanted to continue with the ratings-winning comedy, so the solution was a change of name, house, work situation and the end for Aunt Lucy as the pair were transported to Terry And June.

Share this page