Garth Marenghi's Darkplace. Image shows from L to R: Todd Rivers / Dr. Lucien Sanchez (Matt Berry), Dean Learner / Thornton Reed (Richard Ayoade), Garth Marenghi / Dr. Rick Dagless M.D. (Matthew Holness), Madeleine Wool / Dr. Liz Asher (Alice Lowe). Copyright: Avalon Television
Garth Marenghi's Darkplace

Garth Marenghi's Darkplace

  • TV sitcom
  • Channel 4
  • 2004
  • 6 episodes (1 series)

In this inventive spoof of 1980s TV, author Garth Marenghi introduces his long-lost drama about a doctor battling evil forces. Stars Matthew Holness, Richard Ayoade, Matt Berry, Alice Lowe and Kim Noble

  • JustWatch Streaming rank this week: 772

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 4 - The Apes Of Wrath

Monkey business most macabre... A terrible sickness is spreading from ward to ward as humans regress to a primal state. Dr. Rick Dagless M.D. must find out what's releasing the beast within us, and fast, i.e. before it's too late. A cautionary fable from Romford's 'Chaplain o'Chill'.

Broadcast details

Thursday 19th February 2004
Channel 4
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Friday 5th February 2016 11:40pm Gold
Saturday 6th February 2016 3:25am Gold
Saturday 2nd July 2016 1:00am Gold
Saturday 2nd July 2016 3:20am Gold
Saturday 29th October 2016 3:10am Gold
Sunday 9th July 2017 2:45am Gold
Saturday 5th May 2018 12:50am Gold
Monday 16th July 2018 1:15am Gold
Thursday 20th September 2018 3:25am Gold
Saturday 22nd September 2018 12:55am Gold
Wednesday 7th November 2018 1:50am Gold
Thursday 8th November 2018 1:25am Gold
Monday 19th November 2018 12:35am Gold
Tuesday 20th November 2018 2:05am Gold

Cast & crew

Matthew Holness Garth Marenghi / Dr Rick Dagless M.D.
Matt Berry Todd Rivers / Dr Lucien Sanchez
Alice Lowe Madeleine Wool / Dr Liz Asher
Richard Ayoade Dean Learner / Thornton Reed
Kim Noble Jim
Guest cast
Julian Barratt Padre
Noel Fielding Monkey Man
Samir Haddad Actor
Writing team
Matthew Holness Writer
Richard Ayoade Writer
Production team
Richard Ayoade Director
Charlie Hanson Producer
Jon Thoday Executive Producer
Richard Allen-Turner Executive Producer
Adam Windmill Editor
Dennis De Groot Production Designer
Andrew Hewitt Composer

Share this page