Bread. Copyright: BBC.


BBC One sitcom about a Liverpool family. 74 episodes (7 series), 1986 - 1991. Stars Jean Boht, Peter Howitt, Ronald Forfar, Jonathon Morris and others.

Series 6

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Sunday 9th September 1990

When Leonora arrives to take up residence in Billy's former home, Jack and Adrian are besotted but Billy is horrified as Julie neglected to tell him she was moving. Shifty returns full of apologies and gets a final chance from the family. To add to an eventful 24 hours, their pet dog Mongi has died and the family buries its ashes - then Aveline is rushed to hospital as she is about to give birth...


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Sunday 16th September 1990

A double celebration for the Boswells when Aveline brings her baby home in style and Leonora offers Adrian a job as her chauffeur - even though it is Jack she is interested in. Lilo Lill returns to put another spanner in the Boswell works, just as Joey sets his dad up in business.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Sunday 23rd September 1990

To everyone's amazement Shifty has got a job as a bus driver, while Jack and Leonora's relationship is growing ever stronger. Lilo Lill confides in Freddie that she is suffering an incurable illness and hasn't got long to live!


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Sunday 30th September 1990

Shifty tries to convince Martina that he has changed but ends up taking his passengers on an unexpected trip. Adrian and Jack are both competing for Leonora's affections...


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Sunday 7th October 1990

Billy's van has been broken in to and Joey's new shop has been vandalised - the culprits are unknown. Aveline has decided to leave Oswald and return home to her mother, with her baby. The sibling rivalry over Leonora comes to a head when Jack tells Adrian that he has slept with her...


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Sunday 14th October 1990

Billy's constant complaint of being neglected forces him to make an important decision. Nellie makes plans to go away with Derek, Shifty pledges his love to Martina and Lilo Lill plans a candlelit supper for Freddie.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Sunday 21st October 1990

Nellie is away with her "friend" and finding the experience very uncomfortable; meanwhile, the family try to manage without her. Her absence becomes more acute when Grandad has a fall and breaks his leg!


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Sunday 28th October 1990

Adrian has become successful and his new found wealth has gone to his head and the distribution of his unwanted goods is not altogether welcome. Grandad worries about his lost pigeon but a visit from the sister of an old acquaintance brings hope for the future for both he and Adrian.


9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Sunday 4th November 1990

Adrian's new relationship with Irene has already hit a snag, Nellie becomes more concerned about Grandad when he starts becoming forgetful and Aveline is given a reality check by her agent.


10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Sunday 11th November 1990

Grandad's visit to the doctor takes an unexpected turn when he makes a break for freedom in a taxi and heads for Wales. Jack is having doubts about moving in with Leonora, and Aveline shares a romantic lunch with Oswald.


Christmas Special

First broadcast: Tuesday 25th December 1990

Mrs Boswell finds that little things can cause enormous problems when all should be peace and tranquillity.


Buy Series 6

Bread - The Complete Collection

Bread - The Complete Collection DVD

Release date: Monday 29th September 2014

All 74 episodes of the British sitcom written by Carla Lane.

The Boswells live in Liverpool and are very adept at scamming the system. Nellie Boswell (Jean Boht) rules the nest and puts up with no nonsense from her children or her long-suffering husband, Freddie (Ronald Forfar), as she struggles...