Bread. Copyright: BBC.


BBC One sitcom about a Liverpool family. 74 episodes (7 series), 1986 - 1991. Stars Jean Boht, Peter Howitt, Ronald Forfar, Jonathon Morris and others.

Series 4

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Sunday 18th September 1988

Jack has left home to go to America for a while and Nellie is missing him greatly. Cousin Shifty is coming out of prison and heading for the Boswell home, courtesy of Joey. Aveline has got engaged to a protestant vicar who none of the family have met ...


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Sunday 25th September 1988

Aveline brings Oswald home and he finds a family in chaos when they all show him their true colours! Adrian is accepted as a male model after a less than impressive interview and Shifty is back to his old ways ...


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Sunday 2nd October 1988

Freddie's visit to the doctor has left him unsure of his future, but only Joey notices that his father is suffering from a serious heart complaint. Celia Higgins arrives in the street but finds getting access to her new home a challenge - thanks to the Boswell fleet of battered vehicles!


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Sunday 9th October 1988

Yizzel's mate involves Shifty in an insurance job on his car but forgets that he didn't have an M.O.T. certificate! Meanwhile, Shifty's romance with Martina continues and Celia starts to bond with Nellie ...


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Sunday 16th October 1988

Billy and Adrian both leave home and Nellie decides to teach them a lesson by delivering their belongings to them personally. They both realise that the grass is not so green on the other side and return home - while Shifty appears to be going in the opposite direction.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Sunday 23rd October 1988

Nellie advises the family against fussing over their dad, but she knows that she's wasting her breath. Shifty attempts to move in with his new girlfriend Martina but finds it impossible to leave Grandad on his own. Meanwhile, Adrian's joy at publication of his poems is short-lived when he's nearly arrested.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Sunday 30th October 1988

Joey gives Freddie an ultimatum - Lilo Lill or his mum, but not both! Linda McCartney opens an Animal Rescue Centre and, while getting her autograph, Billy invites her round for tea if she's ever passing - she is, and an unwitting Nellie tells her all her troubles.


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Sunday 6th November 1988

Adrian buys gifts for the family when his poems are published but, when he purchases some dodgy video machines, he gets both himself and Billy in trouble with the police. As if her two sons being in trouble is not enough, Nellie is furious when Shifty is also arrested for driving a stolen vehicle into somebody's living room!


9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Sunday 13th November 1988

Nellie has a chance encounter with a man in the park and she finds it difficult to put him out of her mind. Aveline has split up with Oswald and Joey confronts Roxy about an anonymous letter sent to his mother...


10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Sunday 20th November 1988

The family seems to have enough problems without Nellie worrying about her friendship with Derek. Joey tries to help out Roxy by giving her money and Adrian gives Billy a fruitless lesson in tact and diplomacy.


11. Episode Eleven

First broadcast: Sunday 27th November 1988

Billy is on the edge of a nervous breakdown as an injured pigeon triggers an outpouring of emotion. Nellie and Adrian suffer some embarrassing moments...


12. Episode Twelve

First broadcast: Sunday 4th December 1988

Freddie has a turn for the worse and returns to the family, but a battle over who should look after him breaks out when Lilo Lill turns up. Aveline's wedding is now finally confirmed and Joey misses another rendezvous with Roxy.


13. Episode Thirteen

First broadcast: Sunday 11th December 1988

The preparations for Aveline's wedding are chaotic with arguments aplenty, but these things never run smoothly - especially when Yizzel and his mate are in charge of the wedding cars.


Christmas Special

First broadcast: Sunday 25th December 1988

The Boswells go on holiday to Rome and find their time is filled with happy memories and new relationships.


Buy Series 4

Bread - The Complete Collection

Bread - The Complete Collection DVD

Release date: Monday 29th September 2014

All 74 episodes of the British sitcom written by Carla Lane.

The Boswells live in Liverpool and are very adept at scamming the system. Nellie Boswell (Jean Boht) rules the nest and puts up with no nonsense from her children or her long-suffering husband, Freddie (Ronald Forfar), as she struggles...