Bread. Copyright: BBC.


BBC One sitcom about a Liverpool family. 74 episodes (7 series), 1986 - 1991. Stars Jean Boht, Peter Howitt, Ronald Forfar, Jonathon Morris and others.

Series 3, Episode 8 is repeated on Drama today at 6:40pm.

Bread. Copyright: BBC.


Liverpudlian Boswell family are experts at exploiting the system to get by in life, with plenty of dodgy deals and government handouts to help

1986 - 1991
74   (7 series)
Jean Boht, Peter Howitt, Ronald Forfar, Jonathon Morris, Victor McGuire, Gilly Coman, Nick Conway, Graham Bickley and others
Carla Lane
Susan Belbin, Robin Nash and John B Hobbs
Robin Nash and John B Hobbs

The Liverpool-based Boswell family are experts at exploiting the system to get by in life. Despite the fact that none of the Boswells are officially employed, they manage to live a fairly good life thanks government handouts and various cash-in-hand jobs.

Family life for the Boswells centres around their God-fearing Catholic mother, Nellie. With her husband having left her for "a tart", she relies upon her eldest son, Joey, to play the father's role to her other three sons, Jack, Adrian and Billy, and her daughter Aveline.

Their ability to squeeze the DHSS dry, while the boys earn a living on the side, is legendary. But, although the family is the focus of their lives, they each have different reasons to be unhappy!

Production Details

Production company
Laugh track
Live audience


View recording details

See more by becoming a BCG donor or Pro subscriber
This content is exclusive to BCG Pro subscribers and BCG Supporters. Join them and get extra features including location and/or recording details.
Already a donor or subscriber? Sign in

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Thursday 1st May 1986 on BBC One at 9:30pm
Last new broadcast
Sunday 3rd November 1991 on BBC One at 7:45pm
Upcoming repeats
  1. Series 3 Episode 8: Today at 6:40pm on Drama
  2. Series 3 Episode 9: Tomorrow at 6:40pm on Drama
  3. Series 1 Episode 1: Wednesday at 3:05am on Gold
  4. Series 3 Episode 10: Wednesday at 6:40pm on Drama
  5. Series 1 Episode 2: Thursday at 3:15am on Gold
  6. Series 3 Episode 11: Thursday at 6:40pm on Drama
  7. Series 1 Episode 3: Friday at 3:25am on Gold
  8. Series 3 Episode 12: Friday at 6:40pm on Drama
  9. Series 3 Episode 13: Monday 25th February at 6:40pm on Drama
  10. Series 1 Episode 4: Tuesday 26th February at 3:25am on GoldShow all repeats
  11. Series 4 Episode 1: Tuesday 26th February at 6:40pm on Drama
  12. Series 4 Episode 2: Wednesday 27th February at 6:40pm on Drama
  13. Series 1 Episode 5: Thursday 28th February at 3:25am on Gold
  14. Series 4 Episode 3: Thursday 28th February at 6:40pm on Drama
  15. Series 1 Episode 6: Friday 1st March at 3:30am on Gold
  16. Series 4 Episode 4: Friday 1st March at 6:40pm on Drama

Website links