Bread. Copyright: BBC.


BBC One sitcom about a Liverpool family. 74 episodes (7 series), 1986 - 1991. Stars Jean Boht, Peter Howitt, Ronald Forfar, Jonathon Morris and others.

Series 7

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Sunday 1st September 1991

Billy has mixed fortunes as he finds himself in trouble with the law but meets a girl who melts his heart. Joey finds his past catching up with him but it is Jack and Adrian who are held hostage for his past misdemeanours... Freddie is conspicuous by his absence.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Sunday 8th September 1991

Freddie has been reported missing and when Jack intercepts Lilo Lill turning up at the Boswells' looking for him, concern grows. But, for Billy, life is beginning to take on a sunnier aspect - thanks to Connie. Adrian, on the other hand, finds his love life to be full of disappointment - thanks to Irene!


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Sunday 15th September 1991

Lilo Lill pays Nellie a visit to compare notes on Freddie's last known whereabouts. The rest of the family plan their holiday but there seems to be little enthusiasm from their respective partners to endure a Boswell family holiday!


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Sunday 22nd September 1991

Aveline is offered the role of a pregnant woman in a film and is now grateful to Oswald for his input! Lilo Lill sets out to find Freddie by visiting some of his favourite people and places...


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Sunday 29th September 1991

Things take another turn for the worse when Nellie is taken to hospital. As she discovers she has been given an hysterectomy, a visit from the family proves less than comforting. Grandad, in the meantime, is left alone to cope with a visit from Lilo Lill.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Sunday 6th October 1991

While Nellie is recovering in hospital, the family is at home wondering why her mystery visitor, Derek, called her "darling". Nellie, however, is struggling with Lilo Lill's bedside manner. Jack is frustrated with his lack of success at becoming a father and suspects Leonora is on the pill.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Sunday 13th October 1991

The family go off on holiday to a stately home and find that it doesn't matter how posh the place they still argue wherever they are. Adrian and Irene, however, have stayed at home alone...


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Sunday 20th October 1991

As their holiday draws to a close, the Boswell party increases in number. They make a protest over rabbit-hunting and Lady Bowford takes a shine to Joey. Adrian has a rejection from his music publisher and reaches a crossroads in his life.


9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Sunday 27th October 1991

Adrian has eloped to Scotland to marry Irene whilst Aveline has a scare that helps her bond with Oswald once again. Meanwhile, Joey has lost patience with his family's problems and decides to put himself first for a change.


10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Sunday 3rd November 1991

Jack has good news from Leonora when she announces she is pregnant and Joey decides to join Adrian in Scotland to marry Roxy. Meanwhile, Lilo Lill has news of Freddie's whereabouts while Grandad dreams about his own calamitous funeral...


Buy Series 7

Bread - The Complete Collection

Bread - The Complete Collection DVD

Release date: Monday 29th September 2014

All 74 episodes of the British sitcom written by Carla Lane.

The Boswells live in Liverpool and are very adept at scamming the system. Nellie Boswell (Jean Boht) rules the nest and puts up with no nonsense from her children or her long-suffering husband, Freddie (Ronald Forfar), as she struggles...