Bless This House. Image shows from L to R: Jean Abbott (Diana Coupland), Sid Abbott (Sid James), Mike Abbott (Robin Stewart), Sally Abbott (Sally Geeson). Copyright: Thames Television
Bless This House

Bless This House (1971)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV
  • 1971 - 1976
  • 65 episodes (6 series)

A popular 1970s sitcom starring Sid James. Sid Abbott is, day-in, day-out, hindered in anything and everything by his family. Stars Sid James, Diana Coupland, Sally Geeson, Robin Stewart, Anthony Jackson and Patsy Rowlands

Episode menu

Series 4, Episode 1 - Money Is The Root Of...

Money's tight at the Abbotts' so news of an inheritance from an old friend is met particularly warmly by Sid. However, whilst the rest of the family are delighted to spend their shares, he's far less enthusiastic about the conditions attached to his £300!

Broadcast details

Wednesday 20th February 1974
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Tuesday 7th July 2020 9:05am ITV3
Thursday 3rd September 2020 9:35am ITV3
Sunday 15th November 2020 2:00am ITV3
Monday 16th November 2020 8:55am ITV3
Thursday 24th December 2020 9:00am ITV3
Thursday 18th March 2021 9:35am ITV3
Friday 23rd July 2021 9:10am ITV3
Thursday 10th February 2022 8:35am ITV3
Monday 13th June 2022 8:40am ITV3
Saturday 18th June 2022 6:00am ITV3

Cast & crew

Sid James Sid Abbott
Diana Coupland Jean Abbott
Sally Geeson Sally Abbott
Robin Stewart Mike Abbott
Anthony Jackson Trevor Lewis
Guest cast
Norman Bird Vet
Arthur Brough Mr Sayers
Writing team
Carla Lane Writer
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Lawrence Collett Production Designer
Geoff Love Composer

Share this page

See also