Agatha Raisin. Agatha Raisin (Ashley Jensen).

Agatha Raisin

Sky One comedy drama about an amateur detective. 15 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 2014 - 2019. Stars Ashley Jensen, Mathew Horne, Katy Wix, Jamie Glover and others.

Agatha Raisin. Image shows from L to R: Beth Fortune (Antonia Clarke), DC Bill Wong (Matt McCooey). Copyright: Mammoth Screen.

Series 1, Episode 4 - The Potted Gardener

Agatha springs into action when James's girlfriend Mary Fortune is found dead.

Further details

Agatha springs into action when James's girlfriend Mary Fortune is found dead, planted upside down in a flower pot.

With James left heartbroken, Agatha investigates alone, finding no shortage of suspects in the tiny village of Carsely. At first, she believes the death of green-fingered Mary could be linked to the upcoming and hotly contested local gardening competition.

But as she digs deeper, she discovers that not only had Mary made a habit of rubbing the locals up the wrong way, but she was also hiding a tragic past, as well as a socialite daughter with a strong motive for murder.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 28th June 2016
Sky One
60 minutes


    Cast & crew

    Regular cast
    Ashley Jensen Agatha Raisin
    Mathew Horne Roy Silver
    Katy Wix Gemma Simpson
    Jamie Glover James Lacey
    Matt McCooey DC Bill Wong
    Jason Barnett DI Wilkes
    Lucy Liemann Sarah Bloxby
    Rhashan Stone Rev Jez Bloxby
    June Watson Mrs Josephs
    Maddie Monti Kyra Simpson
    Daisy Beaumont Mary Fortune
    Guest cast
    Richard Durden Mr Boggle
    Marcia Warren Mrs Boggle
    Peter Basham Mick
    Stephen Boxer Bernie Spott
    Sasha Frost Berenice Chilton
    Abubakar Salim Jonah McGillivray
    Antonia Clarke Beth Fortune
    Writing team
    Chris Murray Writer
    Sam Costin Script Editor
    Production team
    Christopher Stoaling 1st Assistant Director
    Paul Harrison Director
    Matthew Mulot Producer
    Cameron Roach Executive Producer
    Michele Buck Executive Producer
    Barry Ryan Executive Producer
    Stewart Harcourt Executive Producer
    David Walton Executive Producer
    Sarah Dibsdall Line Producer
    Joshua Cunliffe (as Josh Cunliffe) Editor
    Ian Fisher Production Designer
    Susie Parriss Casting Director
    Pam Downe Costume Designer
    Helen Tucker Make-up Designer
    Rupert Gregson-Williams Composer
    Christopher Willis Composer
    James Moss Director of Photography
    Geoffrey Sax Series Consultant

    Supporters and subscribers get more

    Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

    • Broadcast details of 6 past repeats of this episode
    • This episode's inital overnight ratings
    • BCG Pro Gold users can see additional crew credits  
      If you join BCG Pro Gold, you can see other: development, director of photography, casting director, make-up designer, costume designer, line producer & 1st assistant director credits for this episode.

    Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

    Already a donor or Pro user?