Agatha Raisin. Agatha Raisin (Ashley Jensen)
Agatha Raisin

Agatha Raisin

  • TV comedy drama
  • Sky One / Sky Max
  • 2014 - 2021
  • 23 episodes (3 series)

Crime-solving comedy drama starring Ashley Jensen as an amateur detective. Also features Jamie Glover, Mathew Horne, Matt McCooey, Jason Barnett, Lucy Liemann and more.

  • Due to return for Series 4

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 3 - The Wellspring Of Death

Agatha Raisin. Image shows from L to R: Agatha Raisin (Ashley Jensen), Roy Silver (Mathew Horne), Guy Freemont (Jules Knight), Portia Salmond (Ruby Thomas)
Parish Council chairman Robert Strutters is found dead in the spring.

Further details

Love, murder, danger - Agatha gets far more than she bargained for when Roy persuades her to take over the PR for a mineral water company that's looking to make a killing from Carsely's natural spring. As the villagers split over whether to allow the firm access to the water, they get a shock when Parish Council chairman Robert Strutters, the man with the deciding vote, is found dead in the spring.

As James decides to investigate with new girlfriend Mary Fortune, a jealous Agatha falls into the arms of suave bottled water boss Guy Freemont. Temporarily forgetting about James, Agatha is head over heels. But could he be too good to be true?

As a second body is found in the village, Agatha's competitive streak emerges and she enlists Gemma's help to try to beat James and Mary to the culprit. However, she makes a dangerous mistake when she decides to confront the killer alone.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 21st June 2016
Sky One
60 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 22nd June 2016 1:00am Sky2
Wednesday 22nd June 2016 9:00pm Sky2
Saturday 25th June 2016 9:00pm Sky1
Sunday 26th June 2016 11:00pm Sky2
Monday 27th June 2016 9:00pm Sky2
Thursday 20th June 2019 9:00pm Sky2

Cast & crew

Ashley Jensen Agatha Raisin
Jamie Glover James Lacey
Mathew Horne Roy Silver
Matt McCooey DC Bill Wong
Jason Barnett DI Wilkes
Katy Wix Gemma Simpson
Tim Stern Gene Harvey
June Watson Mrs Josephs
Daisy Beaumont Mary Fortune
Guest cast
Ron Donachie Ron Allen
Jules Knight Guy Freemont
Elizabeth Hooper Judith Owens
Charlotte Mills Angela Buckley
Tom Chadbon Robert Struthers
Alexander Kirk (as Alex Kirk) Sean Ferguson
Peter Basham Mick
Ruby Thomas Portia Salmond
Calvin A. Dean Andy Buckley
Jacqueline Tong Robina Toynbee
Simon Meacock Jason Briggs
Writing team
Stewart Harcourt Writer
Sam Costin Script Editor
Production team
Christopher Stoaling 1st Assistant Director
Paul Harrison Director
Matthew Mulot Producer
Cameron Roach Executive Producer
Michele Buck Executive Producer
Barry Ryan Executive Producer
Stewart Harcourt Executive Producer
David Walton Executive Producer
Sarah Dibsdall Line Producer
Joshua Cunliffe (as Josh Cunliffe) Editor
Ian Fisher Production Designer
Susie Parriss Casting Director
Pam Downe Costume Designer
Helen Tucker Make-up Designer
Rupert Gregson-Williams Composer
Christopher Willis Composer
James Moss Director of Photography
Geoffrey Sax Series Consultant

Share this page