Agatha Raisin. Agatha Raisin (Ashley Jensen)
Agatha Raisin

Agatha Raisin

  • TV comedy drama
  • Sky One / Sky Max
  • 2014 - 2021
  • 23 episodes (3 series)

Crime-solving comedy drama starring Ashley Jensen as an amateur detective. Also features Jamie Glover, Mathew Horne, Matt McCooey, Jason Barnett, Lucy Liemann and more.

  • Due to return for Series 4

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 2 - Hell's Bells

Agatha Raisin. Image shows from L to R: Rev Jez Bloxby (Rhashan Stone), Bishop Parsons (Michael Byrne), Canon Gibson (Richard Braine), Sarah Bloxby (Lucy Liemann)
Bell ringer Amanda Ballard is found hanging in the belfry.

Further details

Murder rocks the tiny Cotswolds village of Carsely again when bell ringer Amanda Ballard (Sally Bretton) is found hanging in the belfry.

With a suicide note left beside her, the village assumes that widow Amanda took her own life. But not Agatha. She ropes a reluctant Roy into helping her research the case and soon finds that many villagers had a motive to kill, including the vicar (Rhashan Stone), who turns out to be hiding a very guilty past.

As Agatha's investigation takes her back to the bright lights of London, she discovers that Amanda, too, was leading a double life. But can she unmask the killer?


Sally Bretton's character was erroneously credited as 'Amanda Barton'.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 14th June 2016
Sky One
60 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 15th June 2016 1:00am Sky2
Wednesday 15th June 2016 9:00pm Sky2
Saturday 18th June 2016 9:00pm Sky1
Sunday 19th June 2016 11:00pm Sky2
Monday 20th June 2016 9:00pm Sky2
Thursday 13th June 2019 10:00pm Sky2
Saturday 13th July 2019 1:00am Sky2

Cast & crew

Ashley Jensen Agatha Raisin
Jamie Glover James Lacey
Mathew Horne Roy Silver
Matt McCooey DC Bill Wong
Jason Barnett DI Wilkes
Lucy Liemann Sarah Bloxby
Jason Merrells Sir Charles Fraith
Katy Wix Gemma Simpson
Rhashan Stone Rev Jez Bloxby
Tim Stern Gene Harvey
June Watson Mrs Josephs
Maddie Monti Kyra Simpson
Daisy Beaumont Mary Fortune
Guest cast
Sally Bretton Amanda Ballard
Michael Byrne Bishop Parsons
Georgia Taylor Steph
Elexi Walker Tracy Forrest
Richard Dixon John Marlowe
Richard Braine Canon Gibson
Writing team
Stewart Harcourt Writer
Sam Costin Script Editor
Production team
Geoffrey Sax Director
Simon Morris 1st Assistant Director
Matthew Mulot Producer
Cameron Roach Executive Producer
Michele Buck Executive Producer
Barry Ryan Executive Producer
Stewart Harcourt Executive Producer
David Walton Executive Producer
Sarah Dibsdall Line Producer
Anthony Combes Editor
Ian Fisher Production Designer
Susie Parriss Casting Director
Pam Downe Costume Designer
Helen Tucker Make-up Designer
Rupert Gregson-Williams Composer
Christopher Willis Composer
Dale McCready Director of Photography
Geoffrey Sax Series Consultant

Share this page