BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC.

BBC New Comedy Award

BBC Radio 4 Extra and BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4 stand-up awards. 75 episodes (9 series), 2011 - 2019. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.


BBC New Comedy Award. Image shows from L to R: Matt Rees, Harriet Kemsley, Kwame Asante. Copyright: BBC.

1. London Semi-Final

First broadcast: Thursday 1st November 2012

Patrick Kielty hosts the first of two semi-finals in Radio 2's nationwide search for the next big comedy stars of the future, this week from Leicester Square Theatre, London.

In-depth Guide

BBC New Comedy Award. Image shows from L to R: Sunil Patel, Hayley Ellis, Liam Pickford, Peter Otway, Tommy Rowson, Steph Peart. Copyright: BBC.

2. Newcastle Semi-Final

First broadcast: Thursday 8th November 2012

Patrick Kielty hosts the second of the semi-finals, featuring performances from Tommy Rowson, Pete Otway, Hayley Ellis, Steph Peart, Liam Pickford and Sunil Patel.

In-depth Guide

Special: Grand Final

First broadcast: Monday 12th November 2012

Patrick Keilty hosts a live show from The Blackpool Grand Theatre, with six finalists competing to be crowned the winner: Matt Rees, Lucy Beaumont, Matthew Winning, Tommy Rowson, Sunil Patel and Pete Otway.


2012 Videos