Adam Rowe.

Top jokes at the Edinburgh Fringe 2018

Adam Rowe has won the award for Dave's Funniest Joke of the Fringe 2018.

Here's the top 10:

Adam Rowe is currently performing a show at the Edinburgh Festival titled Undeniable. He first got on stage to do stand-up comedy in 2010 and, a little over a year later, was named Liverpool Comedian of the Year. At this point he quit his bar job to pursue a comedy career.

On his joke claiming the top spot, he says: "I'm absolutely over the moon and quite blown away by this! It's my favourite joke in the show, as it ends the bit I'm most passionate about; trying to dispel a few myths of what it's like to be brought up on benefits. It's such a huge honour, I really never expected to be in with a shout of winning things like this, so it's just a massive but lovely surprise. Thank you very much!"

Jokes were collected up by a panel of comedy critics, which were then presented to a panel involving 2000 members of the public. Speaking about how the award is organised, the channel explains: "The Dave award, which is open to both established and up-and-coming comedians, pays homage to the wealth of talent on offer at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe and shines a spotlight on the skill of writing a cracking one-liner. To ensure that there is no bias towards well-known or favourite comedians during the public vote, the jokes are listed with no reference to the comedian that wrote and performed them - meaning it is purely judged on the humour of the jokes themselves."

Luke Hales, Dave channel director, says: "This year, the news agenda and every day British idiosyncrasies have provided some wonderful opportunities for comedians to use their creative and comic genius in giving us all a giggle. As ever, we have enjoyed some quite brilliant one-liners and are delighted to crown Adam Rowe as the recipient of this year's Dave's Funniest Joke of the Fringe Award!"

Previous years

This is the 11th year of the competition...

2017 jokes (Ken Cheng won)

2016 jokes (Masai Graham won)

2015 jokes (Darren Walsh won)

2014 jokes (Tim Vine won)

2013 jokes (Rob Auton won)

2012 jokes (Stewart Francis won)

2011 jokes (Nick Helm won)

2010 jokes (Tim Vine won)