Best Opening Titles?

I'm currently planning some new feature articles for the website. One thing I've always wanted to do is compile a list of shows with great opening (or closing) title sequences...

Please post your favourites to help me come up with a list! It doesn't matter how good the actual show was, it's only the title sequences I'm interested in.

To get things going, off the top of my head, here's a few titles I like:

- Have I Got News For You
- Drop The Dead Donkey
- The League of Gentlemen
- Little Britain
- Lab Rats
- The High Life
- Harry & Paul (Series 2)
- The IT Crowd

- Red Dwarf

:)

This is a punch up between The IT Crowd and Dad's Army for me. As a designer I recognise the greatness and kneel before Shinola (IT) and Keith (Dad's Army). Actually I made up the Dad's Army one, they were probably put together by the rostrum camera man, but they are excellent.

Haven't seen The High Life.

There's clearly a danger in this thread that people will just list shows that they like rather than ones with notably well designed or artistic titles. In fact it's a pointless thread without some kind of artistic mediation.

- Only Fools And Horses
- Citizen Smith

Sorry, misread the first post. I thought we were talking theme tunes.

My bag..

Brass Eye/The Day Today had great opening sequences and some marvellous graphics throughout.

The Venture Brothers has the best opening sequence I know of, but might be a bit obscure for your needs.

My pick for the dreariest - From May to December. That f**king awful tune...

Quote: David Bussell @ February 6 2009, 4:23 PM GMT

The Venture Brothers has the best opening sequence I know of, but might be a bit obscure for your needs.

Darn tootin'!

I already control the Earth from space Griff as you well know. Now make me a brew.

Quote: Griff @ February 6 2009, 4:25 PM GMT

Meanwhile, The Simpsons title sequence has to be up there, surely?

Good Christ yes.

In that case, Futurama should be in there too.