The Maltby Collection. Image shows from L to R: Walter Brindle (Geoffrey Palmer), Rod Millet (Julian Rhind-Tutt). Image credit: British Broadcasting Corporation.

The Maltby Collection

A radio sitcom from the pen of David Nobbs, set in a small museum

2007 - 2009  (BBC Radio 4)
18 (3 series)
Julian Rhind-Tutt, Geoffrey Palmer, Ben Willbond, Rachel Atkins, Michael Smiley, Julia Deakin, Geoffrey McGivern, Chris Pavlo, Margaret Cabourn-Smith
David Nobbs
British Broadcasting Corporation

The Maltby Collection is David Nobbs' first radio sitcom and focuses on life in a small, fairly unpopular museum. The employees' complicated love lives and varied ambitions for the future are the basis for much of the comedy in the series.

Our Review: The Maltby Collection is an always-enjoyable series featuring several memorable characters, entertaining situations and a very strong cast. The show is rarely hilarious, but it is smartly written and contains many amusing moments.