The Maltby Collection. Copyright: BBC.

The Maltby Collection

BBC Radio 4 sitcom set in a museum. 18 episodes (3 series), 2007 - 2009. Stars Julian Rhind-Tutt, Geoffrey Palmer, Ben Willbond, Rachel Atkins and others.

Press Clippings

What do you look for in a workmate? A talent for footie? A nice little bum? Or access to a never-ending supply of biscuits? Fortunately for Rod Millet, he's got all three, which makes him a shoo-in for the post of assistant curator at a bijou gallery known as The Maltby Collection. Unfortunately for Rod Millet, on the very day that he starts work, the powers-that-be decide the museum must close.

Rod's colleagues immediately set about finding themselves comfy billets elsewhere - but the new boy decides to fight for the institution's survival ...

David Nobbs's sitcom stars Julian Rhind-Tutt as the biscuity idealist, Rachel Atkins as his smouldering boss, and Geoffrey Palmer as the self-centred museum director.

Phil Daoust, The Guardian, 15th June 2007