The Maltby Collection. Copyright: BBC.

The Maltby Collection

BBC Radio 4 sitcom set in a museum. 18 episodes (3 series), 2007 - 2009. Stars Julian Rhind-Tutt, Geoffrey Palmer, Ben Willbond, Rachel Atkins and others.


Patricia Routledge is a big fan of this comedy.

Source: RadioTimes

David Nobbs has stated that writing the second series of this comedy was the most enjoyable time that he had had since penning A Bit Of A Do.

Five of the scripts for the second series were too short and so Nobbs was forced to hurriedly write extra scenes prior to the recording dates.

Writer David Nobbs and guest star Barry Cryer have a long history of collaborating, having been two of the head writers on Les Dawson's much loved series Sez Les.

The appearance of Neil Fitzmaurice in the final episode of the first series proved fitting. The plot centres around a film crew visiting the museum and a similar theme had already been covered in Fitzmaurice's Phoenix Nights - a show which writer Nobbs has claimed he is a huge fan of.