The Royle Family. Image shows from L to R: Denise Royle / Best (Caroline Aherne), Dave Best (Craig Cash), Jim Royle (Ricky Tomlinson), Antony Royle (Ralf Little).

The Royle Family

BBC One and BBC Two sitcom about a family. 25 episodes (3 series), 1998 - 2012. Stars Ricky Tomlinson, Sue Johnston, Caroline Aherne, Ralf Little and others.

Series 2

1. Episode 1

First broadcast: Thursday 23rd September 1999

Denise lets slip that she's fallen pregnant. Naturally, there's little else in discussion for the rest of the evening.


2. Episode 2

First broadcast: Thursday 30th September 1999

Nana's back for her Sunday roast, and Barbara's rushed off her feet in the kitchen. When Jim arrives with Twiggy in tow she's stretched to breaking point, but all Denise cares about is Dave's old bike.


3. Episode 3

First broadcast: Thursday 7th October 1999

Antony's got a new girlfriend from a comparitively posh part of town, and she's even got her own car. Meanwhile, Jim's in a mood at the thought of a week with Nana as she convalesces from a cataract operation.


4. Episode 4

First broadcast: Thursday 14th October 1999

Nana's asleep on the sofa, and - surprise, surprise - Jim's in a foul mood again. Antony's love life could already be on the rocks, and next door, Cheryl's joined Weight Watchers.


5. Episode 5

First broadcast: Thursday 21st October 1999

It's been a particularly stressful few weeks, and with the menopause kicking in, Barbara's had enough. Unfortunately, Jim can't see what he's done wrong, and the argument soon spreads to Dave and Denise. But after Bar storms out, Jim reveals a new side...


6. Episode 6

First broadcast: Thursday 28th October 1999

It's Antony's 18th, and Barbara's prepared a buffet on the back table, ready for a small get-together. It's also the Royles' first chance to meet new girlfriend Emma and make a good impression.


Christmas Special

First broadcast: Saturday 25th December 1999

It's Christmas, and Denise is just about ready to pop. As the family begin to disperse from the Royles' after the customary meal, their world looks set to change forever.


Series 2 Products