The Royle Family. Image shows from L to R: Denise Royle / Best (Caroline Aherne), Dave Best (Craig Cash), Jim Royle (Ricky Tomlinson), Antony Royle (Ralf Little).

The Royle Family

BBC One and BBC Two sitcom about a family. 25 episodes (3 series), 1998 - 2012. Stars Ricky Tomlinson, Sue Johnston, Caroline Aherne, Ralf Little and others.

The Golden Egg Cup

Comic Relief Special

First broadcast: Friday 13th March 2009

Short special, produced as part of the 2009 Comic Relief event.


The Royle Family. Image shows from L to R: Dave Best (Craig Cash), Denise Royle / Best (Caroline Aherne), Jim Royle (Ricky Tomlinson), Barbara Royle (Sue Johnston). Copyright: Granada Productions / Jellylegs.

Christmas Special: The Golden Egg Cup

First broadcast: Friday 25th December 2009

There's a new buzz in the Royle family household as it is a special time for Jim and Barbara and a celebration (including Twiglets and scotch eggs) is planned.

In-depth Guide