The One.... Ronnie Corbett. Copyright: BBC / Little Britain Productions
The One...

The One...

  • TV sketch show
  • BBC One
  • 2010 - 2012
  • 4 episodes (1 series)

A series of one off comedy specials for BBC One. Ronnie Corbett, Jasper Carrott, Lenny Henry & Griff Rhys Jones are the stars.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 3 - The One Griff Rhys Jones

Griff takes centre stage in this all-star sketch show, where he will be joined by some of the biggest names in television.

Preview clips

Further details

The One.... Griff Rhys Jones. Copyright: BBC / Little Britain Productions

Griff takes centre stage in this all-star sketch show, where he will be joined by some of the biggest names in television, including Hugh Bonneville (Twenty Twelve), Tom Hollander (Rev) and Larry Lamb (Gavin & Stacey). And Mel Smith will be doubling up with Griff, as they reprise their iconic Smith And Jones head to head sketch.


Despite numerous mentions both in publicity and during the episode itself, The One Griff was not the first time in 16 years that Jones had starred in a comedy programme, nor appeared with Mel Smith: the 2006 retrospective series The Smith & Jones Sketchbook had been presented by both men, and included a number of newly recorded 'head to head' sketches.

Broadcast details

Monday 16th January 2012
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Sunday 29th January 2012 10:50pm
40 minute version
Monday 28th May 2012 11:05pm BBC1
Monday 28th May 2012 11:35pm BBC1 Wales

Cast & crew

Griff Rhys Jones Host / Presenter
Guest cast
Hugh Bonneville Bob Williams
Tom Hollander Colleague
Larry Lamb Bank Robbers' Leader
Kevin McNally (as Kevin R McNally) Squire Bandyman
Perry Benson Mr Red
Michael Melia Mr Black
Paul Putner Friend on Sofa
Patricia Hodge Wife
Mel Smith Self
Laura Haddock Actor
Joshua McGuire (as Josh McGuire) Actor
Dominic Applewhite Actor
William Hartley Actor
Aaron Ishmael Actor
Writing team
Jason Hazeley Writer
Joel Morris Writer
John Finnemore Writer
Kevin Cecil Writer
Andy Riley Writer
Paul Cornwell Writer
Mike Haskins Writer
Kasper Hauser Writer
Griff Rhys Jones Writer
Mark Burton Writer
John O'Farrell Writer
Paul Powell Writer
Production team
Geoff Posner Director
Alex Walsh-Taylor Producer
Jed Leventhall Executive Producer
Mark Freeland Executive Producer
Geoff Posner Executive Producer
Gareth Edwards Associate Producer
Jake Bernard Editor
Gary Hewson Editor
David Hitchcock Production Designer
Simon Rogers Production Designer
Jakko M. Jakszyk Composer


Griff Rhys Jones: Million Million Bonus sketch

Griff Rhys Jones and Hugh Bonneville perform a banking-based sketch where it seems Griff's character is less than pleased with his bonus...

View this clip on the BBC website

Featuring: Griff Rhys Jones & Hugh Bonneville (Bob Williams).

Share this page