The Detectives. Image shows from L to R: Dave Briggs (Robert Powell), Bob Louis (Jasper Carrott). Copyright: Celador Productions.

The Detectives

BBC One sitcom about incompetent detectives. 31 episodes (5 series), 1993 - 1997. Stars Jasper Carrott, Robert Powell and George Sewell.

Series 2, Episode 3 - Never Without Protection

When the paparazzi catch a Duchess romantically embracing her police protection officer, Bob and Dave are detailed to be her security for the next few weeks, as the only officers immune to sexual entanglements.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 16th March 1994
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jasper Carrott Bob Louis
Robert Powell Dave Briggs
George Sewell Superintendent Cottam
Guest cast
Frank Windsor Chief Superintendent
Rula Lenska Duchess
Anthony Valentine Chauffeur
Robert Bathurst Thomas (Paparazzi)
Paula Hamilton Miss Red Button
Geoff Lawson 'Bodger' Riley
Andrew Barclay Jimmy
Roland Oliver Harry the Editor
Nicolas Colicos (as Nic Colicos) Masseur
Daniel Flynn Peter Burlington
Tony Soper Badger Watch Commentator (Voice)
Writing team
Steve Knight Writer
Mike Whitehill Writer
Production team
Ed Bye Director
Ed Bye Producer
Nic Phillips Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer, editor & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?