Plebs. Image shows from L to R: Jason (Jon Pointing), Grumio (Ryan Sampson), Marcus (Tom Rosenthal). Copyright: RISE Films


  • TV sitcom
  • ITV2 / ITVX
  • 2013 - 2022
  • 39 episodes (5 series)

Modern comedy set in Ancient rome, following a trio of very normal blokes who certainly won't make the history books. Stars Tom Rosenthal, Ryan Sampson, Jon Pointing, Tom Basden, Ellie Taylor and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 6 - The Candidate

Plebs. Image shows from L to R: Victor (Simon Callow), Philo (Tony Gardner). Copyright: RISE Films
The local elections arrive, so Marcus and Stylax sign up as hired clappers for wig-wearing politician Victor of the Gracchii. Grumio, however, is drawn towards another candidate named Julius Priscus. Could it simply be because he is giving away free promotional plums?

Broadcast details

Monday 20th October 2014
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 22nd October 2014 10:30pm ITV2
Thursday 23rd October 2014 10:50pm ITV2
Tuesday 2nd December 2014 11:50pm ITV2
Tuesday 17th February 2015 11:05pm ITV2
Monday 24th August 2015 11:10pm ITV1
Sunday 6th December 2015 11:35pm ITV2
Monday 15th February 2016 11:40pm ITV2
Wednesday 25th January 2017 10:30pm ITV2
Sunday 29th December 2019 1:05am ITV2
Wednesday 6th May 2020 10:30pm ITV2
Thursday 11th February 2021 10:30pm ITV2
Sunday 14th February 2021 2:10am ITV2
Tuesday 7th September 2021 10:30pm ITV2
Monday 13th September 2021 1:10am ITV2
Tuesday 15th February 2022 10:30pm ITV2
Sunday 20th February 2022 2:50am ITV2
Wednesday 6th December 2023 10:30pm ITV2
Tuesday 12th December 2023 1:00am ITV2

Cast & crew

Tom Rosenthal Marcus
Ryan Sampson Grumio
Tom Basden Aurelius
Karl Theobald Landlord
Tom Davis Davus
Joel Fry Stylax
Sophie Colquhoun Cynthia
Lydia Rose Bewley Metella
Guest cast
Simon Callow Victor
Tony Gardner Philo
Jonny Sweet Julius Priscus
Eliza Hope Bennett Ambrosia
Denis Georgiev Tarquin
Mari Rosen Clemens
Milko Yovchev Goblin
Writing team
Sam Leifer Writer
Tom Basden Writer
Production team
Sam Leifer Director
Teddy Leifer Producer
Caroline Leddy Executive Producer
Sam Leifer Executive Producer
Nick Ames Editor
Julian Fullalove Production Designer
Oli Julian (as Oliver Julian) Composer

Share this page