Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television
Love Thy Neighbour

Love Thy Neighbour

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1972 - 1976
  • 54 episodes (8 series)

Pro-white socialist Eddie Booth is disgusted when a black couple move in next door - but far worse than his skin colour, Bill Reynolds is Conservative. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams, Tommy Godfrey and more.

Episode menu

Series 8, Episode 5

Finding a sense of outrage at bureaucracy, Eddie resolves to sort out a problem Bill's having with the electricity board. Unfortunately his ungracious manner only makes things worse when they come into contact with a series of black bosses and workmen!

Further details

The lights may not be going out all over Europe, but they are in the Reynolds household when Eddie Booth's efforts to clear up an electricity bill they've already paid result only in their being cut off.

Pending reconnection, Eddie is obliged to accept his neighbours as house guests, and while the sparks certainly fly, it's a black day all round - especially for Eddie!


This episode is sometimes known as Power Cut.

Broadcast details

Thursday 15th January 1976
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Tommy Godfrey Arthur
Keith Marsh Jacko
Paul Luty Nobby Garside
Guest cast
Victor Noonoo Mr Sylvester
Oscar James Gas Board Workman
Allister Bain Electricity Board Workman
Emma Stephenson Miss Lloyd
Writing team
George Evans Writer
Lawrie Wyman Writer
Production team
Anthony Parker Director
Anthony Parker Producer
David Richens Production Designer

Share this page