Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television
Love Thy Neighbour

Love Thy Neighbour

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1972 - 1976
  • 54 episodes (8 series)

Pro-white socialist Eddie Booth is disgusted when a black couple move in next door - but far worse than his skin colour, Bill Reynolds is Conservative. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams, Tommy Godfrey and more.

Episode menu

Series 8, Episode 4

Eddie's determined to sell the house and leave Twickenham for his beloved homeland of Manchester. Joan is far less than enthusiastic, but can anything halt the sale?


This episode is sometimes known as For Sale.

Broadcast details

Thursday 8th January 1976
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Tommy Godfrey Arthur
Keith Marsh Jacko
Paul Luty Nobby Garside
Guest cast
James Cossins George Britain
Stella Moray Mother
Writing team
H.V. Kershaw Writer
Production team
Anthony Parker Director
Anthony Parker Producer
David Richens Production Designer

Share this page