Love Thy Neighbour. Image shows from L to R: Eddie Booth (Jack Smethurst), Bill Reynolds (Rudolph Walker). Copyright: Thames Television.

Love Thy Neighbour

ITV sitcom about arguing neighbours. 54 episodes (8 series), 1972 - 1976. Stars Jack Smethurst, Rudolph Walker, Nina Baden-Semper, Kate Williams and others.

Series 7, Episode 1

Indulging his interest in famous crimes by purchasing a pair of handcuffs reported to have been used to arrest Dr. Crippin, Jacko tests them out on Eddie and Bill. Unfortunately he hasn't bought a key!


This episode is sometimes known as Famous Crimes.

Broadcast details

Thursday 17th April 1975
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Jack Smethurst Eddie Booth
Rudolph Walker Bill Reynolds
Nina Baden-Semper Barbie Reynolds
Kate Williams Joan Booth
Tommy Godfrey Arthur
Keith Marsh Jacko
Paul Luty Nobby Garside
Guest cast
David Rowlands Father Anthony
William Lawford Fred
Writing team
Sid Colin Writer
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Frank Gillman Production Designer