Bless This House. Image shows from L to R: Jean Abbott (Diana Coupland), Sid Abbott (Sid James), Mike Abbott (Robin Stewart), Sally Abbott (Sally Geeson). Copyright: Thames Television
Bless This House

Bless This House (1971)

  • TV sitcom
  • ITV1
  • 1971 - 1976
  • 65 episodes (6 series)

A popular 1970s sitcom starring Sid James. Sid Abbott is, day-in, day-out, hindered in anything and everything by his family. Stars Sid James, Diana Coupland, Sally Geeson, Robin Stewart, Anthony Jackson and Patsy Rowlands

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 8 - The Day Of Rest

It's Sunday, and all is far from well, peaceful, or quiet in the Abbott household! New neighbours, drilling, welding, and a lack of coffee are only the start of Sid's worries.


This was the first episode of the series to be made in colour.
Programme number 3979.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 23rd March 1971
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 17th June 2020 9:35am ITV3
Monday 22nd June 2020 3:55pm ITV3
Friday 14th August 2020 9:05am ITV3
Thursday 22nd October 2020 8:55am ITV3
Tuesday 27th October 2020 1:30am ITV3
Friday 4th December 2020 9:30am ITV3
Wednesday 10th February 2021 9:20am ITV3
Wednesday 17th February 2021 2:00am ITV3
Wednesday 16th June 2021 9:20am ITV3
Monday 24th January 2022 8:05am ITV3
Saturday 29th January 2022 9:10am ITV3
Wednesday 25th May 2022 8:05am ITV3
Sunday 29th May 2022 8:50am ITV3
Tuesday 25th October 2022 8:05am ITV3
Sunday 30th October 2022 1:45am ITV3
Friday 29th September 2023 8:05am ITV3
Saturday 27th January 2024 6:00am ITV3
Thursday 6th June 2024 12:40am ITV3

Cast & crew

Sid James Sid Abbott
Diana Coupland Jean Abbott
Sally Geeson Sally Abbott
Robin Stewart Mike Abbott
Guest cast
James Cossins Tom Williams
Juliet Harmer Norma Williams
Writing team
Dave Freeman Writer
Vince Powell Script Editor
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Bernard Spencer Production Designer
Geoff Love Composer

Share this page