Bless This House. Image shows from L to R: Jean Abbott (Diana Coupland), Sid Abbott (Sid James), Mike Abbott (Robin Stewart), Sally Abbott (Sally Geeson). Copyright: Thames Television.

Bless This House

ITV sitcom about a family. 65 episodes (6 series), 1971 - 1976. Stars Sid James, Diana Coupland, Sally Geeson, Robin Stewart and others.

Series 1, Episode 5 - Another Fine Mess...

Sid's forced to look after a present for his boss's wife. He's also struggling to find a present for his own better half. And so ensues the case of the missing mink.


The on-screen title of this episode is split over two screens. The first is "Another Fine Mess..." and the second "...In Which Sid Involves Everyone...Starting With His Boss...". No writer is credited, but it is known that Vince Powell script-edited Series 1.
Programme number 3750.

Broadcast details

Tuesday 2nd March 1971
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Sid James Sid Abbott
Diana Coupland Jean Abbott
Sally Geeson Sally Abbott
Robin Stewart Mike Abbott
Guest cast
Peter Copley J. G.
Beryl Cooke Mrs Gordon
June Abbott Miss Lloyd
Vivienne Cohen Bridget
Writing team
Vince Powell Script Editor
Production team
William G Stewart Director
William G Stewart Producer
Geoff Love Composer
Norman Garwood Production Designer