After You've Gone. Image shows from L to R: Diana Neal (Celia Imrie), Molly Venables (Dani Harmer), Alex Venables (Ryan Sampson), Jimmy Venables (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Siobhan Casey (Amanda Abbington)
After You've Gone

After You've Gone

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 2007 - 2008
  • 25 episodes (3 series)

When his ex-wife Ann joins an African disaster relief effort, Jimmy is left to care for their teenage children - with the help of his ex-mother-in-law. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Celia Imrie, Ryan Sampson, Dani Harmer, Amanda Abbington and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 3 - Lock Back In Anger

Jimmy's plans to introduce Siobhan to Diana and the kids go woefully awry.

Further details

After Jimmy's van and all its contents including his tools and his jacket with his keys in the pocket gets stolen, Diana insists they change all the locks.

This leads to a stand off between Jimmy's laissez faire attitude and Diana's belief in direct action. In the heat of battle about whose house this is, Diana reminds Jimmy that since she and her husband gave Ann the deposit on for the house, the place is partly hers.

Meanwhile, after prompting from Siobhan, Jimmy reluctantly agrees to take the big step of introducing her to Diana and the kids.

When Diana responds to Jimmy "putting things off" by hiring a professional locksmith, Jimmy ultimately has to break into the house to claim it as his own.

As a result, when Siobhan does meet Diana and the kids, it is in far from ideal circumstances.

Broadcast details

Friday 26th January 2007
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Nicholas Lyndhurst Jimmy Venables
Celia Imrie Diana Neal
Ryan Sampson Alex Venables
Dani Harmer Molly Venables
Amanda Abbington Siobhan Casey
Lee Oakes Kev
Vincent Ebrahim Bobby
Guest cast
Paul Hunter Lock Smith
Hazel McBride Mrs Campbell
Fergus Craig PC Walker
Martin Troakes PC Malloy
Laurence Howarth Desk Sergeant
Writing team
Katie Douglas Writer
Andrea Solomons Writer
Dan Tetsell Writer
Ian Brown Writer
James Hendrie Writer
Fred Barron Writer
Production team
Tony Dow Director
Rosemary McGowan Producer
Kenton Allen Executive Producer
Fred Barron Executive Producer
Mark Wybourn Editor
Harry Banks Production Designer
Jamie Cullum Composer

Share this page