After You've Gone. Image shows from L to R: Diana Neal (Celia Imrie), Molly Venables (Dani Harmer), Alex Venables (Ryan Sampson), Jimmy Venables (Nicholas Lyndhurst), Siobhan Casey (Amanda Abbington).

After You've Gone

BBC One sitcom about a family. 25 episodes (3 series), 2007 - 2008. Stars Nicholas Lyndhurst, Celia Imrie, Ryan Sampson, Dani Harmer and others.

Series 1, Episode 2 - Silence Of The Clams

Jimmy discovers more than he wants to know about Diana.

Further details

Jimmy overcompensates for his previous failings as a Father by letting his kids throw a party. Knowing Diana would completely disapprove of this, Jimmy agrees not to tell her and keep her away from the house on party night. Under the pretext of seeking advice on matters "too personal" to discuss around the kids, he invites her to dinner.

At Diana's favourite restaurant, Jimmy discovers that while he and the kids have been sneaking around behind Diana's back, Diana has been sneaking around theirs. Over dinner, Diana notices a certain gentlemen friend, with whom she has an "understanding", dining intimately with another woman.

Meanwhile at the party, Molly's cool school friends and Alex's geeky ones, in fancy dress as their favourite Crustaceans, don't quite mix.

Back at the restaurant, as Diana looks daggers at the two-timing Laurence, Jimmy is still trying to digest the shock and amusement that she has a secret love life. However, seeing how genuinely humiliated Diana is, Jimmy gallantly steps into the breach by pretending to be her bit-of-rough.

Broadcast details

Friday 19th January 2007
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Nicholas Lyndhurst Jimmy Venables
Celia Imrie Diana Neal
Ryan Sampson Alex Venables
Dani Harmer Molly Venables
Amanda Abbington Siobhan Casey
Lee Oakes Kev
Vincent Ebrahim Bobby
Guest cast
Roxanne Ricketts Ellie
Mark Zammit Bradley
Edward Bennett Waiter
Rupert Frazer Laurence
Shana Swash Wendy
Robert Knox Josh
Writing team
Katie Douglas Writer
Andrea Solomons Writer
Dan Tetsell Writer
Ian Brown Writer
James Hendrie Writer
Fred Barron Writer
Production team
Tony Dow Director
Rosemary McGowan Producer
Kenton Allen Executive Producer
Fred Barron Executive Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see composer, editor & production designer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?